Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Nice! Pretty strong on vinegar (I used rice instead of white), but great for vinegar lovers. This sauce is also a little thin, so I would probably thicken it more as the submitter suggests if I were wanting more cling to it - but because it is strong, the consistency as written works well for dipping without getting an overbearing amount of sauce. We had ours with vegetable spring rolls and it was really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
really good! could be a bit thicker so I will add more cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Loved the flavor, but found it a bit runny. So, after it cooled, I mixed in another tsp of corn starch, reboiled it, and it was great! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was great! I did not have brown sugar or pineapple juice so I used white sugar and apple juice. It went great with a Hawaiian stir fry: pineapple, yellow pepper, red pepper, green onion, and real bacon bits served over rice soooo goood and sooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Creston, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Kimberley, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Really great sauce for the cream cheese won tons we made...a bit heavy on the vinegar, but I like vinegar, so great for me, but a little overwhelming. Easy, easy, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minneapolis Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
As written this is a 3 star recipe. I agree with another reviewer that said it was a bit on the sour side. Take the advice of other reviewers - more sugar/ketchup, rice vinegar, sesame oil - and you'll have a 5 star sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Made this as a dipping sauce for fondue. t was great with the shrimp and later I used up the rest on meatballs. That was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Increased cornstarch to 1 tablespoon and sugar to 1/4 cup, and served over stir-fried pork and vegetables. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I made this to dip my porkroast in tonight. I didn't have any pineapple juice, so I substituted apple juice, and it came out very, very yummy. Satisfied my pregnant craving, at any rate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I doubled the ingredients using no oil nor salt and used rice vinegar. I did use 1 T. cornstarch dissolved in 1 T. water to thicken it more. Rather than a dipping sauce, I used it as a sauce for Sweet and Sour Chicken--wonderful! The leftovers were great, too. DH added hot pepper to his which worked terrific. I'm going to make another batch and keep it in the freezer for when I need a quick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States