Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This is an excellent sweet and sour sauce. I did not have any pineapple juice, so I used apple juice and used double the cornstarch and 4 heaping tablespoons of brown sugar and 3 tablespoons of ketchup and the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This came out much thinner than I wanted, so I added another teaspoon of corn starch to a teaspoon of cold water, stirred in and let simmer for 4-6 minutes. Perfect, and I LOVE that it wasn't bright red! Update Jan. 1, 2011: started with 2 tsp corn starch, used seasoned rice wine vinegar, 3/4 tsp canola oil and 1/4 tsp sesame oil, no salt, and left everything else the same, and it was awesome. 5-star keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
It's hard no to stop using this sauce! Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Califon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great sauce!! But I did add a little bit more brown sugar, as the vinegar was a bit overpowering. I also double the recipe and then store in the fridge for later. Usually when I am making this it is for large parties......so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5frys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Maybe it was just me but I found this far too watery even after adding more cornstarch and cooking it for longer in hopes of thickening it up. Then after repeat tastings, both my son and I kept thinking it was far too 'sour' and would add a little more sugar, then a little more, then it was too sweet so a bit more ketchup.. Maybe it was cook's error though, not necessarily the recipe. Or maybe we're just too picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Had some egg rolls but nothing to dip them in so found this, made it in a few minutes and it was perfect! I used cider vinegar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Made this to go with some store bought chicken nuggets, and it went over a storm. A little too ketchup-y for me, and also a little too think. I made more slurry by coming additional pineapple juice and cornstarch and stirring it while adding it to the pot. Came out wonderfully and we will be using this again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was excellent! I added a bit more cornstarch to make it slightly thicker and used the juice of 1 can of pineapple chunks and 3-4 pieces of pineapple. I also added 1/4 of a large diced green pepper. Yummy! It tasted exactly like the sweet and sour sauce you would get at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This was very good and quick to whip up, we like big chunks of pineapple in ours and I added about a tspn of sweet soy sauce. Other than that this is a good tasting recipe and I've saved it to my recipe box. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Easy with the perfect taste and consistency for my liking. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States