Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
my husband thinks this is better than any store bought sauce. I used rice vinegar and left out the oil because I forgot it (though it didn't need it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
We try not to eat food dye especially red 40 so when I found this recipe I had to try it. It is so easy. I do add a bit more cornstarch for dipping so it's not so drippy but we usually have some made up all the time since my kids love spring rolls and crab ragoon. I also use rice wine vinegar which I think gives it just a bit of a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Super duper dipper for my egg rolls! I added a LOT of cornstarch to thicken it up, but recipe is great as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The ingredients are spot on. The only thing that confused me was that the cornstarch was added at the beginning. I've never seen that before. My little knowledge of cooking tells me to add the vinegar and brown sugar, heat and wisk to dissolve. Add the pineapple juice and then as the mix comes up to heat, add the cornstarch that has been dissolved in cold water or a bit of reserved pineapple juice. I then add a couple of drops of red food coloring to give it that restaurant look. Not to knock this recipe...just to add my take on the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We made this sauce for dinner tonight and it was excellent with wontons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
More B sugar, ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
More sour than sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
it's a good easy homemade sauce, I used it to make sweet and sour shrimp and tofu, marinated, then stir fried with vegetables and pineapple, came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
my gf is asian and I would have no problem making this for her or her parents (also asian) :p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
incredible! i was making some freezer spring rolls and the sauce looked gross so i figured i would find a recipe. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil because i couldn't find any and i used the juice from a can of fruit because i didn't have any pineapple juice. Luckily that seemed to do just the trick, it was the perfect combination of sweet and sour =). Made the frozen spring rolls a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SourXPCandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States