Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I can only give this recipe 4 stars if you make it the way it's written. However, if you use a premium rice vinegar, and sesame seed oil it tastes better than take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Very Good! Just as it is. I've made this sauce a few times. It is great for sweet and sour meatballs over steamed rice! I have also used orange juice instead of pineapple which made it even more tangy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Colborne, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This is just like what you get in a restaurant with sweet and sour chicken. Except I accidently put in 1 tsp. of corn syrup instead of corn starch, but it was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I have finally tweaked this recipe to where my hubby likes it. I triple the corn starch, use half the vinegar, and triple the brown sugar. Yep, it's a pretty big departure. :) I make it with homemade chicken nuggets, so the husband can have them without the fillers from a fast food joint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandyce78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manawa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I made this sauce for my homemade egg rolls and my family loved it. The only thing I did different was to use a total of 2 & 1/4 tsp of corn starch, oh, and I didn't add any salt, it still turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Simons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This recipe was just ok. It did not thicken up and was pretty runny and it tasted a bit too strong of vinegar. Even still, my family did enjoy it with our homemade eggrolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I ended up adding another 1/2 cup pineapple juice and a whole cup of brown sugar to make this sweet and sour, otherwise, it was just all sour. The pineapple juice adds a nice twist to sweet and sour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Pretty good. A little too much vinegar taste for me. I'll play around with the measurements. Added a 2 TBSP more sugar to cut the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Morgan Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I agree, a little more sour than sweet. At first I didn't like it but it grew on me. I used it with chicken bites as an appetizer. Will make again, but with a little more juice and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Western

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petersburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
very good. i make it often with tofu/veggie stir fry. have made without oil when i ran out, it came out pretty good still. made once with white wine, when out of white wine vinegar... it was too sweet. when made as recipe directs, very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States