Sweet and Sour Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
It was alright but next time I think I'll try it without the ketchup. I used rice vinegar and didn't have pure pineapple juice so I used my pineapple/orange juice in it. It does taste nearly identical to Chinese take out sauce they give you with crab Rangoon, except theirs is more sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I triple this recipe for the BEST EGG ROLL recipe on this site. Tastes like the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whatsfordinner
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Easy and fast to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quinlan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
This was great. I did not have pineapple juice so i replaced it with a half can (3/4 cup) of peaches. Put the peaches in a magic bullet and pureed them. It was so good. Will use this again, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I made this and did not have cornstarch so I used flour. It worked really well. I would recommend only one tbsp of ketchup though. Very flavourful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
So much better than the jarred junk! I did find it a pinch too sweet so I added soy sauce to taste. Also- always thought you had to boil corn starch to make it thicken? Could be wrong though ;-) but I boiled mine for a few minutes and it came out the perfect consistency. I subbed rice vinegar too. Great as is and with a splash of sirracha when you would like a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I have a favorite Chinese restaurant where they have the best sweet'n'sour sauce and it is orange. All others have the pink version. When I saw this recipe, I had to try it and I am not disappointed. My family absolutely loves this sauce and I do not have to travel 60 miles now in order to get it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
it is easy to make I added a bit more brown sugar because it was super tangy but really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Just like what you get at a Chinese restaurant, family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I found this to be still too "sour" even taking some of the other suggestions into account ie: increasing the brown sugar to 1/4 cup and using rice vinegar. I think I'll keep searching for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States