Sweet-and-Sour Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DummyCook
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I thought this was pretty good coleslaw. I used part sugar and part sweetener, much less than 1/3 cup and it tastes plenty sweet. The store had bags of coleslaw mix for $1 so I used about 5 cups of that plus the red pepper, black pepper, some finely minced red onion and a tiny bit of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is a great recipe. I altered by eliminating the corn and the optional ingredients and adding poppy seeds to the dressing. It got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I can't wait to try this. The reviews look good and it has such tasty ingredients, no added fat, not too much salt and lots of fiber. I'm always looking for dishes like this. No wonder I'm a vegetarian, I love salads and fortunately they're good for me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I just used cabbage, bell pepper, and corn, and it was good. Used 1/4 c sugar and it was plenty sweet. I chopped the cabbage but my husband thought I should have shredded it. I kind of liked it chopped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Awesome. Even the dh, who doesn't really like veggies, said it was good. That says a lot. I substituted half and half red and regular cabbage. I also used stevia instead of Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
So simple & so good! Left out the corn & cilantro and it was still great! I fully expected this to be just "blah" (especially since I didn't have any cilantro to put in it) - but pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margarette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Substituted w/ 1/4 cup sugar. This is delicious and great to take to get togethers or just enjoy with the family. Everyone gave rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great twist on coleslaw. Loved the addition of corn to this and the jalapeño added just enough kick without overpowering the other flavors. I used bagged slaw rather than shredding cabbage and used 1/4 cup sugar rather than Splenda. My family and my parents really enjoyed this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This was excellent! I used sugar and cut way back but only due to personal preference. This is a perfect summer side dish. All of the different colors in this made it very appealing and "easy on the eyes". Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Very good. The cilantro and jalapeno add a little bit of an exotic flavor, which really elevates this recipe. Do note that if you use some form of liquid sweetener, you will need at least 1 1/2 teaspoons. I used closer to a full tablespoon. Don't make the mistake of using 1/3 cup of liquid sweetener, as I nearly did, before catching myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States