Sweet and Sour Chicken Tenders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mrs Bel
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Loved it & it was a Big hit with my kids too! (ages 2,3,&7) The only changes I made were using red wine vinegar (it was all I had) and using just over half of what it called for, I cut the chicken into bite sizes pieces before doing anything else, I used a 9x9 dish lined with aluminum foil and I covered it with aluminum foil while cooking. I should have doubled the while recipe! We will be using this recipe a lot from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Bel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Thia was great. It was my first time and the flavor was wonderful. I added pineapples and green peppers as well as red onions which took some of the vinegar taste away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This recipe was delicious. My 6 and 2 year old both gobbled it up, along with rice and broccoli. I followed the directions exactly, except I used 1/4 cup of Apple cider vinegar. I will definitely add this into our dinner rotation menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Sweet and sour chicken was excellent. I cut vinegar in half and chicken was tender and delicious!! Eileen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dana
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
way better than I expected! I didn't brown the chicken first, I made the marinade, I didn't have cider vinegar, I used pineapple juice from a can of crushed pineapples and 3 tbs of white vinegar …and put the teaspoon of garlic salt n marinade …I put the chicken in a baking pan (I used chicken legs, didn't have tenders) baked at 375° 45 mins covered with foil …took the chicken out poured the marinade and I bowl and added a tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken it was a little thin, stirred it up and then put it back in the pan with the chicken and baked for an additional 10 - 15 minutes....I honestly at first didn't think it was going to be good when I got through making the marinade it smelled vinegary and I didn't like it, I cooked it anyways and it turned out to be very tasty!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
these were OH SOO CLOSE but definitely NOT right. They need pineapple on them. I will have to work at tweaking these with a proper sweet and sour recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Really loved it! Even my fussy daughter who only eats 7 things now has added an eighth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Pretty good. I used a store bought sweet and sour mix plus the vinegar. Even the picky family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Made this recipe again. This time I made 4 times the amount of sauce, but cut the proportion of vinegar by about 1/4, so to 2 cups of sugar (or Splenda), 1 cup each chicken broth and catsup, I had about 1 1/2 cups of vinegar, and about 1/4 cup of Ponzu Sauce. I also added pineapple chunks with about 1/2 cup of juice, red & green pepper strips, and onion strips. Cooked as before, stirring 'til it started to simmer, then added the chicken pieces which had been dipped in the cornstarch/garlic powder mixture. I let it simmer for 40 minutes or so, turning from time to time. It turned out even better than before. For those who didn't like the cider vinegar, you might try rice wine vinegar. I personally don't care for cider vinegar in most recipes, so use white vinegar, but I do like the rice wine vinegar, too, and find it not quite as sour as cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1st Grambo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carpio, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
So I did not fry the chicken just made the sauce and poured it over the chicken to bake. It was to runny so next time will add cornstarch to thicken first. Realised the chicken rolled in cornstarch would have thickened the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purple

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States