Sweet and Sour Chicken Tenders Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I made just a couple of modifications based on others' reviews. I only used half the amount of cider vinegar, and I added some pineapple juice to the sauce mixture (from a can of crushed pineapple). The sauce came out really good, but the chicken definitely cooked too long. I think 40 minutes is way too long for chicken tenders, and it took longer than 5 minutes to brown my chicken in the pan, and I'm wondering if I could skip this step. My kiddos didn't like it--I think it was because the chicken was overdone, though. I'll have to try this again but reduce the time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Awesome!!! I used red wine vinegar because that's all I had on hand, and I added pineapple juice from a small can of crushed pineapple. I also put 1 red pepper, 1 green pepper, and the crushed pineapple in the dish along with the chicken while baking. It was perfect! Not too vinegar-y. I think the pineapple juice balanced it well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Missouri, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Very tasty! I was hoping for more of a glaze but the flavor was so good. I doubled the sauce and used 4 chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This recipe was really good! I only had 8 pieces of chicken tenders, and I used splenda instead of the sugar. It turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Oh my. I was not expecting this to turn out quite this....fantastic. It doesn't look like Sweet and Sour chicken per se but oh boy it tastes just like it. I did cut the vinegar in half when making the sauce and did add an extra 2 tbsp. after a taste test. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
YUMMY!!! I tried this recipe last night and followed it exactly...It came out GREAT!!! Served it with white rice and steamed broccoli. The only thing I would do different is make more of the sauce because my family likes to spoon the sauce over their white rice. None left!!! This one is a Keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I loved this! And so did my boyfriend and my son. It was so easy! Instead of cornstarch I used 3/4 cups flour. I just didn't have any. It was simple and tasted great. I used chicken breast tenders, so the oven cook time was about 30 mins. The only thing different I would do; is after I put the chicken in the oven, I would make another bowl of sauce. It would have been nice to have extra and some to add on the fried rice that I made. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
My family loves this recipe so much they have been asking for me to make it again! It was delicious! Adding carrots, broccoli, onions, etc. would spice it up a bit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
So good, I made this in my wok, fried chicken, and removed it.. added onions and peppers and stir fried, added the sauce and chicken back. OMG, everyone loved it ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Really tasty! Would definattely make this again. I used white wine vinegar in a smaller amount because that's all I had on hand and yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States