Sweet and Sour Chicken Stir Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Added pineapple juice, pineapples, onions, and green and red pepper. Recipe was very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Wonderful and easy. I used green & red peppers instead of zucchini and mushrooms. I also added a few pineapple chunks. I only used about 3tbsp total of oil. My young kids thought it was a little spicy, but it was perfect for the grownups. Next time, I may tone down the red pepper flakes for their benefit. I saved this one to my Recipe Box for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
i am not a sweet and sour anything person, but everyone else in my family is and everyone loved it. even my 8 yr old that is picky. of course he only ate the chicken but it is the fact the he ate it that says that it is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangefield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent. Followed recipe to the letter and served over hot white rice. It was a crowd pleaser. The only bad thing and it was my fault, I might have added the zucchini too early because it turned out kindda slimy...but still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cor135

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Yum! I used no oil and All Fruit spread and put it over my regular stir fry veggie mix I like. A little sweetness that I thought was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
very good we are on weight watchers so we used so little oil next time I won't even use oil just pam. We did use pineapple chunks with all of there juices from it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was awesome. I used beef and chicken and had a selection of different veggies for people to choose from. It was a big hit for sure and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe and it will be a regular at our house from now on. I did make a few modifications....I didn't have cider vinegar, so I used rice vinegar. I used olive oil instead of canola, and I did not use pea pods, but did add bell pepper, broccoli, purple onion and water chestnuts. You pretty much can add/use any veggies on hand. I cooked the chicken first and set aside. Then I cooked all of the veggies until just barely tender, then added the chicken, water chestnuts and the sweet and sour sauce. Mixed until all coated, then served over long grain brown rice. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
First things first: I had to improvise. I followed the sauce recipe exactly, used just over 1 lb chicken, and used a bag of frozen stir-fry mix veggies. As a matter of personal preference, I used 2 tbsp canola oil instead of the recommended whopping 1/2c! I heated the oil on MED, put in the frozen veg first & let it thaw for about 5 minutes before putting in my chicken. Turned up the heat to between med & med-high & kept tossing everything together until the chicken was cooked. Added sauce mx & let it reduce down for about 10 minutes on med-low since the frozen veg had added some water. Stirred occationally while reducing. THE RESULT: Home made, low prep AWESOME! I cooked the rice while the chicken was cooking & sauce was reducing a bit, so total time from prep to plate was about 30 minutes, and could be tweaked to less. VERY GOOD & A KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This turned out OK in my book, my husband LOVED it. I guess my main peeve was that I used the "low sugar" apricot preserves but I didn't buy SMUCKERS, I bought an off brand and it had that weird diety, saccharin, aspartime after taste that diet sodas have. I will make this again but next time I am buying just regular apricot preserves and we'll see how they turn out. I served mine over a bed of white rice and once I got past the weird taste of the apricot low sugar stuff overall the meal was very tasty. EASY enough to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States