Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This recipe deserves 5 stars and I'd give more if I could. My pickiest son even loved this. I took others suggestions and doubled the sauce and got a 20 ounce can crushed pineapple and kept the soy sauce the same at 1/4 cup. I also added a heaping tablespoon of ketchup to give it that reddish color you see at restaurants. This was restaurant caliber and I'm adding it to my recipe box to make again and again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
With some changes this was a very tasty dish. First of all, I followed advice gleaned from a long-ago Chinese room-mate: always stir-fry boneless chicken cubes first (and quickly over high heat), adding them back to the stir-fry once the vegetables are tender crisp. Chicken breast can be very easily overcooked. Here are the other changes I made: I minced up 2 garlic and about a one-inch piece of fresh ginger. I used half of it to stir-fry the chicken and the other half to stir fry the vegetables. Speaking of the vegetables, I added broccoli and green onion (which I had on hand)to the mix. For the sauce, I followed the advice of many reviewers and doubled the vinegar and brown sugar, also adding the juice from a larger tin of pineapple cubes. Given the extra liquid, I decided to increase the amount of cornstarch from 1 to 2 Tbsp, which was perfect. With the extra sauce, I could have added more vegetables. Next time I would increase the peppers. I served it with brown rice. A very satisfying dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I've made this as is and it was very good. With a few changes it can be awesome. I made a lot more sauce using a few different recipes for reference and I added onion. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
This was great - I followed someone else's review and used a larger can of pinapple for the extra juice. Next time, I would probably use tidbits instead of pinapple chunks. Totally try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly as posted and boy was it good! I love making stirfrys and I have been looking for a good sweet and sour chicken one and am so glad that I finally found it. We gobbled this one down, I will make it again very soon. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
My husband said it was the best sweet and sour chicken he ever had. He bragged about it to his buddies at work! I used Double the ingrdiants on the sauce except the teriaki sauce. Added some ketchup. Plus I used a 20oz can of pineapple chunks and made extra chicken. topped chicken over wild grain rice. This came out awesome. I will be making this dish often! THANKS for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Moltisanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shirley, New York, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. I liked it because you didn't bread the chicken, which means fewer calories. I did add ketchup to the sauce and also doubled the sauce. The next time I make it I will season the chicken while cooking, we thought the chicken was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
The best sweet and sour chicken I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I also modified the recipe somewhat by taking out 1/2 the soy sauce, and adding some ketchup, more pineapple juice, and a little more ginger. My rice isn't quite ready yet, and I'm afraid we'll have eaten all the pork (oh yeah, I also used pork loin instead of chicken......melt in your mouth!!) by the time it's done!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DETROBODINE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
It was just OK. My 4 year old didn't like it and ate a pear instead. My hubby ate two helpings though. I don't know if there was too much soy sauce for the recipe or what, but it just didn't do it for us. I much prefer Lana's S S meatball sauce so next time I will use that. Thank you though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States