Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Not too Sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
While "OK," my hubs and I both agree this wasn't the best sweet & sour we've ever had. Sal's sweet & sour chicken II is FAR better, IMHO. My hubs isn't even a fan of sweet & sour and he REALLY likes Sal's version. :) I felt that the "crunch" usually associated with traditional sweet & sour was missing here. This needs something crisp to add texture - celery or water chestnuts come to mind. The carrots and bell peppers only added slight crunch, leaving me wanting more.... I also felt that this sauce was not as flavorful as other's I've had. As wifeyluvs2cook did, I too cut up breaded (Tyson brand) chicken fingers instead of sauteing actual cut-up chicken breasts. While I thought the idea sounded great, it didn't work for me at all. :( The breading fell off my chicken! In retrospect, I should have partially thawed my chicken FIRST, then cut into chunks BEFORE baking (oh well!). My last change was to add a heaping tablespoonful of katsup to my sauce to impart color (I was out of red food coloring or else I would have used that). Served over fried rice with egg rolls on the side. Maybe this will be THE sweet & sour recipe for your family, but it wasn't for mine. Thanks anyways, VINEYIS. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
What I'm really rating here is the sweet and sour sauce recipe, which I think is spot-on, except that I always use fresh minced ginger rather than powdered. For us vegetarians, this is great over cubed, super-firm tofu or seitan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Both my husband and I LOVED this recipe! It is excellent just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
1/4 cup soy sauce was a tad on the high side, other sweet and sour sauce recipes yield better results than this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Yummy and quick and easy to put together!! I followed another reviewers advice cooked the chicken in the hot oil with garlic and some fresh ginger just to brown. Removed the chicken and added the peppers and onion (also with garlic and fresh ginger);when tender, added the chicken back in with the pineapple. For the sauce, I doubled the vinegar and brown sugar. This recipe was excellent! Everyone loved it and thought it was restaurant quality. A great weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Superb! Good portion sizes (Fed me and hubby, plus 2 kids, and even had some left over for lunch tomorrow). I used the 16 oz can of pineapple and omitted the ginger because I am allergic, but the flavor was still excellent. I also used the carrot "chips" (crinkle cut slices in salad section of grocery) and they didnt cook up quite as tender as I would've liked. Next time I will make sure they get a little cook time on their own before I add the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I love this recipe!! I've made it quite a few times with a few little adjustments (I doubled the soy sauce, cornstarch, vinegar, brown sugar, and ground ginger). It turns out great and it's super easy. The last time I made it it turned out the best, but I agree, you may want to remove the chicken while you stir fry the veggies since the chicken dried out a little but at the same time my husband didn't seem to notice and thought it was fantastic. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkiomenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Thanks alot. turned out really good. tastes fantastic. i shall be cooking this more often. allrecipes has really helped me with my cooking skills! Next time i will try this dish with pork fillet instead of chicken! xxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States