Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Without a doubt, the BEST sweet and sour chicken we've ever had- even better than any restraunt! We both had seconds and I cannot wait to have the left overs for lunch! I took the other's advice and doubled the vinegar, brown sugar and pineapple (20 oz). I did not increase the soy sauce but did add about 2 T. of Ketchup. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It will be a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
My husband and I both thought this recipe was very salty. Maybe it was because I only put one pepper in and omitted the carrots. Also I just guessed on how much pineapple and juice since I only had a larger can so maybe I didn't put enough juice in. I think if I try this again I would put celery to help with the saltiness as well as more pineapple and juice. Overall this was a very quick and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was really yummy and tasted just like what my Mom made us when we were kids. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I like the fact that I can make this recipe and have sweet and sour chicken any time I wish! I made the recipe as written and enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romulus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Thank-you for this recipe! I fried the chicken in the oil then put it, and all the rest of the ingredients into the slow cooker. I cooked it on high for 6 hours and it turned out perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
VERY good. I added celery, as celery is good in just about everything. Added a small onion chopped coarsely, and added some dried red pepper to taste for a little bite. Topped with some green onion and served over rice. I think this is the best stir-fry type thing I have ever cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Just tried this one I was looking for a stir fry that had all the ingredients I had on hand. Well it was yummy, quick and easy. I only changed two things and that was forgetting the garlic and adding some peanut halves for crunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was delicious! We were looking for a quick stirfry and this was perfect. We added one chopped red onion & 8 oz of snow peas; due to the extra veggies, we tripled the ingredients for the sauce (except only doubled the soy sauce & pineapple with juice). For some heat, we added a tbsp of Asian garlic chili sauce to the sauce; we also browned the chicken with minced garlic & crushed red pepper flakes. Served over brown rice. Can't wait for the leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I prepared this recipe for a friend's daughters open house. I got several great comments!! I did add some things to the recipe like Pineapple tidbits, 2T of Ketchup and 1/2 cup of sweet onion sliced. My family truly loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eagle, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
My rating on this is all a matter of preference. I just wanted everyone to take note that this is a soy sauce based sauce, so is more of a deep flavor and less of a tangy flavor. I prefer the tangier ones that get most of their liquid from pineapple juice and chicken broth, with a hint of soy. So, for some people this might be their ultimate recipe - go for it! But for me, a different flavor is my ideal sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States