Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I thought this was very good with the addition of ketchup, onion, and more pineapple. My kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Kent, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Great recipe, and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
We liked this recipe very much! I used cubed pork instead of chicken, and I added chopped onions, 2 tabsp. ketchup, and halved maraschino cherries with a little juice for flavor and color. (I only had green bell peppers, no red) I increased the vinegar to offset the sweetness of the cherries. We served this over white rice. I put condiment dishes of slivered almonds, chopped green onions, and chinese noodles to add on top according to personal preference. It was a very attractive dish, and very tasty. And quick and easy, which rates high in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Wen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keno, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I made this a few years ago and forgot to save it to my recipe box. I just stumbled across it again and made it tonight. I still love it! Double the sauce if you like to drizzle it over your rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe is easy to make and very very good, even for the average cook. I used 3/4 of a can of pineapple tidbits and added a little Asian Zing sauce from Buffalo Wild Wings! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDSAY33

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Monroe City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Awesome! My kids loved this recipe, I added little baby shrimp and some extra veggies. It was even good the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Used olive oil instead, and didn't have cornstarch so I substituted flour. I added onion like the reviews suggested. It was delicious! Will definitely make it again, but think I will double the amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
With some changes this was a very tasty dish. First of all, I followed advice gleaned from a long-ago Chinese room-mate: always stir-fry boneless chicken cubes first (and quickly over high heat), adding them back to the stir-fry once the vegetables are tender crisp. Chicken breast can be very easily overcooked. Here are the other changes I made: I minced up 2 garlic and about a one-inch piece of fresh ginger. I used half of it to stir-fry the chicken and the other half to stir fry the vegetables. Speaking of the vegetables, I added broccoli and green onion (which I had on hand)to the mix. For the sauce, I followed the advice of many reviewers and doubled the vinegar and brown sugar, also adding the juice from a larger tin of pineapple cubes. Given the extra liquid, I decided to increase the amount of cornstarch from 1 to 2 Tbsp, which was perfect. With the extra sauce, I could have added more vegetables. Next time I would increase the peppers. I served it with brown rice. A very satisfying dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Easy and delicious. You could easily make it more like a Chinese restaurant by breading and frying the chicken, but I like that it's quick and healthier. I doubled the sauce (except the soy and pineapple), added broccoli and cauliflower, and just a little bit of white pepper. I also used extra cornstarch to thicken the sauce more. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States