Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I thought this was good. Doubled the pineapple as many suggested. Served over some brown stir fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
The chicken was surprisingly very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
For being so good, this was so EASY! It took me very little time to throw this together for dinner. My husband and I were both impressed by the flavor and I took leftovers for lunch the next day. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I'd say this is four stars as written, but very easy to turn it into 5 stars. I halved the recipe, but still used the whole can of pineapple chunks. I wanted to stretch it further, so I used way more veggies. I used the ones called for as well as orange pepper and onion (i bet broccoli would be good too). I tasted before serving and knew it was defintely missing something, so I added a tablespoon or so of ketchup and a couple dashes of red pepper flakes. It turned out delicious and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
so sad this didn't work out for us way - to much soy sauce even doubling the rest of the sauce ingredient and adding some ketchup I had to doctor the taste just so the soy sauce wasn't so overwelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Very nice. I followed recipe as directed but had a bit more chicken, so increased the vegies accordingly. Also added about a quarter of a cup more water, and a tad more of everything else except the soy sauce, to make sure I had enough sauce and help decrease the sodium a bit. It was very tasty, but next time I think I will remove the chicken and vegies from the pan before I add the ingredients for the sauce, and bring the sauce almost to a boil before adding everything back, as it took so long for the liquid to come to a boil that the meat was a bit tough and the vegies were a little overdone for our palates (and I was using a big saute pan with a lot of surface area). I can see making this a part of the rotation - by cutting up the vegies the night before, and storing in a container in the frig, and maybe even mixing the ingredients for the sauce (sans pineapple juice and corn starch), again storing in the frig in a covered container, this could make a really quick dinner: with most everything cut up ahead of time, by the time the rice is done cooking, you could have yourself a meal! Thanks for making dinner a little easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I didn't have cornstarch so I substituted 2 tbsp flour. We'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Excellent, quick, and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
We loved this recipe..I used a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks for more sauce. will definitely be making this over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kinnison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori L.
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Just a few changes. Added a little red pepper flakes and used a 15 oz. can of pineapple. Also, doubled vinegar, brown sugar and corn starch. Very pretty and a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States