Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
We loved this recipe..I used a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks for more sauce. will definitely be making this over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori L.
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Just a few changes. Added a little red pepper flakes and used a 15 oz. can of pineapple. Also, doubled vinegar, brown sugar and corn starch. Very pretty and a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Very yummy and easy. I added cauliflower and a little onion and cooked a little longer. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was AWESOME, I'm going to make this one a regular. Make twice the sauce if you're making rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunquaker
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I followed the suggestions of others and used a 20 oz can of pineapple and made double the sauce (used all the juice). I added more ginger and only used green bell peppers since that is all I had. I also added an onion. I mixed the sauce in one bowl and added the pineapple with the vegetables so they can get sauted too. I plan on making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
It's hard to find a recipe that truly tastes like you would expect...My husband, son and I REALLY enjoyed this recipe. The reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is because i think it needs a few modifications. SEASON THE CHICKEN: If you don't, the chicken is a little bland even if the sauce is salty. I think it would better to season the chicken and cut down on the soy sauce if you don't like salty food...(I do though). I just used some sea salt and cracked black pepper before frying it and it was really good. MORE SAUCE: I doubled the sauce like other reviewers, and I am glad I did because it was perfect. I used almost all the juice of a 20oz can of pineapple, and about half the pineapple in the can (don't like things too sweet). The only thing I wouldn't double in the sauce is the ginger, unless you like a strong ginger flavor. I also added some Chinese Garlic Chili sauce (1 tsp) for a bit of spice in the sauce and some sesame seeds as I was frying the veggies. for the 1 pound of chicken, i used 1 whole green bell pepper and 1 whole red pepper, also added 1 onion (i think it's a must!) and 1 carrot. It's easier for me to measure veggies like that as opposed to in cups. I also added 1TBSP of ketchup like other reviewers did, and to make it easier, I combined ALL the ingredients of the sauce in a medium bowl and wisked, and then just poured all that into the skillet when the chicken and the veggies were done. I WILL MAKE IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN! THANK YOU VINEYIS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Thought this was yummy! I followed some other suggestions & added about 3/4 of a 20 oz can of pineapple w/ juice, kept soy sauce the same & doubled cornstarch, vinegar & brown sugar. Also added about 2 T ketchup. Used garlic powder instead of fresh. Used 1 green pepper & 1 med. onion & about 1 C matchstick carrots. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This recipe was so easy and very delish-5 year old and hubby devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was too bland for my taste,I have a better recipe. I won't be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States