Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I'd say this is four stars as written, but very easy to turn it into 5 stars. I halved the recipe, but still used the whole can of pineapple chunks. I wanted to stretch it further, so I used way more veggies. I used the ones called for as well as orange pepper and onion (i bet broccoli would be good too). I tasted before serving and knew it was defintely missing something, so I added a tablespoon or so of ketchup and a couple dashes of red pepper flakes. It turned out delicious and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
so sad this didn't work out for us way - to much soy sauce even doubling the rest of the sauce ingredient and adding some ketchup I had to doctor the taste just so the soy sauce wasn't so overwelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Very nice. I followed recipe as directed but had a bit more chicken, so increased the vegies accordingly. Also added about a quarter of a cup more water, and a tad more of everything else except the soy sauce, to make sure I had enough sauce and help decrease the sodium a bit. It was very tasty, but next time I think I will remove the chicken and vegies from the pan before I add the ingredients for the sauce, and bring the sauce almost to a boil before adding everything back, as it took so long for the liquid to come to a boil that the meat was a bit tough and the vegies were a little overdone for our palates (and I was using a big saute pan with a lot of surface area). I can see making this a part of the rotation - by cutting up the vegies the night before, and storing in a container in the frig, and maybe even mixing the ingredients for the sauce (sans pineapple juice and corn starch), again storing in the frig in a covered container, this could make a really quick dinner: with most everything cut up ahead of time, by the time the rice is done cooking, you could have yourself a meal! Thanks for making dinner a little easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Great recipe! I didn't have cornstarch so I substituted 2 tbsp flour. We'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Excellent, quick, and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
We loved this recipe..I used a 20 oz can of pineapple chunks for more sauce. will definitely be making this over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori L.
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Just a few changes. Added a little red pepper flakes and used a 15 oz. can of pineapple. Also, doubled vinegar, brown sugar and corn starch. Very pretty and a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Very yummy and easy. I added cauliflower and a little onion and cooked a little longer. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This was AWESOME, I'm going to make this one a regular. Make twice the sauce if you're making rice on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunquaker

Displaying results 101-110 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States