Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
1/4 cup soy sauce was a tad on the high side, other sweet and sour sauce recipes yield better results than this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Yummy and quick and easy to put together!! I followed another reviewers advice cooked the chicken in the hot oil with garlic and some fresh ginger just to brown. Removed the chicken and added the peppers and onion (also with garlic and fresh ginger);when tender, added the chicken back in with the pineapple. For the sauce, I doubled the vinegar and brown sugar. This recipe was excellent! Everyone loved it and thought it was restaurant quality. A great weeknight meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Superb! Good portion sizes (Fed me and hubby, plus 2 kids, and even had some left over for lunch tomorrow). I used the 16 oz can of pineapple and omitted the ginger because I am allergic, but the flavor was still excellent. I also used the carrot "chips" (crinkle cut slices in salad section of grocery) and they didnt cook up quite as tender as I would've liked. Next time I will make sure they get a little cook time on their own before I add the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Strickler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I love this recipe!! I've made it quite a few times with a few little adjustments (I doubled the soy sauce, cornstarch, vinegar, brown sugar, and ground ginger). It turns out great and it's super easy. The last time I made it it turned out the best, but I agree, you may want to remove the chicken while you stir fry the veggies since the chicken dried out a little but at the same time my husband didn't seem to notice and thought it was fantastic. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Perkiomenville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Thanks alot. turned out really good. tastes fantastic. i shall be cooking this more often. allrecipes has really helped me with my cooking skills! Next time i will try this dish with pork fillet instead of chicken! xxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and the meal had absolutely no flavor to it. Very boring and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I followed the advice of my fellow reviewers and made a couple of changes to the recipe. I used a 20 oz. can of pineapple, doubled the vinegar (rice wine) and brown sugar, and added a hefty squirt of ketchup. I like things spicy so I also added a little sriracha. With the changes, I would give this recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is quite good, but is more like a stir fry than Sweet and Sour Chicken. Next time, I'll try a different recipe for S&S chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I cheated and used store bout sweat & sour sauce tht i cut with a tablespoon of ACV (apple cider vinegar) but this recipe was my guideline! It came out delicious. My 4 yr old ate ALL of the veggies w/o me having to ask him to! Winner in my (recipe) book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States