Sweet and Sour Chicken III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
This is a fantastic stir fry! Very easy, fast and delicious. I throw in a variety of veggies (carrots, celery, peppers, onions) and double the sauce so there is plenty of it to cover all the extra veggies and rice. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Was a good recipe-followed West Vancouvers Foodies's advice and was perfect!! Yummo so thank you so much!!From West Vancouver Foodie-With some changes this was a very tasty dish. First of all, I followed advice gleaned from a long-ago Chinese room-mate: always stir-fry boneless chicken cubes first (and quickly over high heat), adding them back to the stir-fry once the vegetables are tender crisp. Chicken breast can be very easily overcooked. Here are the other changes I made: I minced up 2 garlic and about a one-inch piece of fresh ginger. I used half of it to stir-fry the chicken and the other half to stir fry the vegetables. Speaking of the vegetables, I added broccoli and green onion (which I had on hand)to the mix. For the sauce, I followed the advice of many reviewers and doubled the vinegar and brown sugar, also adding the juice from a larger tin of pineapple cubes. Given the extra liquid, I decided to increase the amount of cornstarch from 1 to 2 Tbsp, which was perfect. With the extra sauce, I could have added more vegetables. Next time I would increase the peppers. I served it with brown rice. A very satisfying dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharlene Goodwin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I normally don't rate recipes because they are not worthy to be rated so when I do it means it was outstanding! I made this for the first time today and it was AMAZING! We have a local Chinese place and I can tell you when I am craving Chinese now I will surely do this instead of take out and it was so easy to prepare too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe, and it is fast. The only thing i have veered away from is the groung Ginger. Use the fresh ground Ginger instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
We really enjoyed this! I doubled the recipe using 20 oz can of pineapple with its juice. I also added a can of sliced water chestnuts and half of a large onion cut into chunks. Used a little more vinegar than called for. This was easy, quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Really really good. Doubled the sauce like others. Maybe less corn starch though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Weber
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
It was great! I subbed broccoli for carrots just because I prefer it but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
It wasn't a bad tasting dish. It just didn't taste like sweet and sour chicken to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
great recipe! thanks :) Added some ketchup and extra soy sauce :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca Aquilina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Delicious! I added celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Basil & Oregano Bruschetta Chicken

See the simple way to cook like an everyday gourmet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States