Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Yummy! I cooked chicken in a large skillet then added sauce ingredients (using cornstarch instead of flour, premixed it in the soy sauce to avoid lumps), let it thicken in the skillet then added the vegetables (substituted 1" pieces of vidalia onion instead of the celery). Less dishes to wash! Simple, easy, delicious! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This brings me back to my childhood! My mother would make this at least once a month! It is AWESOME! It is so quick on those busy nights!!! I did add a little ginger, garlic salt, and about 1/2 cup of diced onion to the chicken when it was cooking. But this is for sure a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
My husband said this is pretty darn close to restaurant sweet and sour. I took some others' advice here - changed the order of cooking around a bit, too. I added 1 clove minced jar garlic, 1 cup chopped broccoli, 1/4 cup onion. Omitted the flour and water chestnuts. I sauteed my vegetables in 1 T oil until they were crisp tender, then added the vinegar, juice, soy sauce & brown sugar; also used 1/4 cup cornstarch smoothly mixed with 1/4 cup ketchup - stirred that into it, thickened and it was *awesome*. Definitely will be making this again - fast, inexpensive, delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Thought it was pretty good! I used stirfry veggies instead of the suggested veggies. Sauce is thick and a littel goes along way with the rice. Some suggested to make a lot of rice with it and that is true! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was fantastic. The best sweet and sour I've made. Very easy too (some of the recipes on this site were way to complicated. THis one was not). I didn't have peppers so used broccoli and onions. Everyone in my family loved it. Served with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I have tried many many variations of Sweet & Sour. I have finally found THE ONE! I had to change it up a bit as I only had 10 oz of pineapple chunks so I substituted a 10 oz can of mandarin oranges juice pack. I also took another cooks suggestion and used the cornstarch mixed in with the ketchup and omitted the flour. I added big chunks of sweet onion also. My husband isn't a hugs "Sweet & Sour" fan but he loved this! I will definitely keep this one in my Recipe Box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
My husband said this was better than restaurant sweet and sour chicken. Like others, just a couple modifications, cornstarch instead of flour, added some ketchup to taste. Also, I made it a stir fry and browned the chicken in my wok and then added green peppers, onions and water chestnuts. Added the pineapple to the sauce just before adding it to the stir fry. I made the Fried Rice Restaurant Style from this site and served together, we ate ever bit of it. Thanks for sharing the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
This was fast and easy. My 6 year old liked it (which is always hit or miss). I did reduce the vinegar (and used apple cider) and brown sugan, and made the thickening sauce from 3/4 c. ketchup and 2 TBLS cornstarch. I tossed the chicken with teriyaki sauce before stir-frying. I WILL make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This tasted very authentic. I added the baby cut corn and fresh cut mushrooms too. My two year old even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pumpkincookie84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ohio City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delphos, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is the best recipe ever for sweet and sour! I've been making one very close to it for years. I use cornstarch rather than flour, I just prefer it to flour. Just mix it in well with the brown sugar before you add it and it is always going to be lump free. I also serve with a lot of rice and I also like to sometimes use round steak cut into strips rather than chicken. As far as the veggies go you can pretty much change them up for whatever your family likes and it still turns out great. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States