Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Just tried this recipe for the first time tonight. It was really just perfect! I baked 2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken thighs first and stirred them in just before serving over hot rice. Hubby and kids said this one is definitely a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
this sauce is sooooo good. i will definately use it again with different meats. i also substituted 2 tbs of corn starch for the flour. no celery, i used a red bell pepper and a green bell pepper and cut the chicken into chunks. soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Good dish, sweet but good. Sauce had a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe. The only thing I might cut back on is the brown sugar. It was a little bit too sweet. I made it with red pepper, water chestnuts, peanuts and served it over rice. Delicious and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was delicious. However, I really made a lot of changes. First of all, I used drumsticks and I browned them in some oil first. I removed the chicken and added it to another pan containing the sauce mixture. I carmelized the vegetables in the first pan. (I used red, yellow and green bell peppers and onions). I let both cook for about 15 minutes, then put them together in the same pan, added the pineapple and cooked for about another 5 minutes. I too had used some extra pineapple juice. It turned out great... more like an Hawaiian dish than Chinese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Encino, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
The sauce was PERFECT! The reason I rated it 4 stars is because we don't care for celery. We used 1 red pepper, 1 green pepper, and a head of broccoli with 1 lb. of chicken. We also used crushed pineapple instead of chunks because that's what we had on hand. Served it over brown rice...Delicious! I plan on adding this to our regular menu rotation. Thanks, Sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Awesome recipe. I came home this evening having no idea what I was going to make for dinner, but had a taste for sweet and sour chicken. This was quick and easy and tasted GREAT! I did use the ketchup and cornstarch tip that another review mentioned. This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I liked this. I am definitely going to cut back on the sugar next time and I didn't have the water chestnuts but I can tell that the crunch would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
My 9 year old daughter made this recipe. She omitted the celery and left the pineapple chunks on the side. It was really very good and obviously very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Delish! My hubby was very hesitant about eating this dish because the chicken was fried and battered. However, once he tried it, he found that he liked it quite well. I will definitely be making this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtbby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States