Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was delicious. Next time I will use more vegetables - broccoli, carrots, edamame... Also the pineapple was too sweet in the sauce. I would put it on top as a garnish or leave it out altogether (not the juice, just the chunks)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I had this recipe a long time ago, but lost my recipe book. I could remember the ingredients but not the amounts to use. This recipes is exactly like the one I lost except it uses flour instead of cornstarch. I got rave reviews when I made this. Instead of chestnuts and celery I used a green and a red pepper. Next time, I might try different vegetables like broccoli and snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was a quick and easy meal and tasted great!! I did add ketchup as others recommended and used 1/4 cup vinegar and 1/4 cup of water instead of the full 1/2 cup of vinegar. I also didn't add water chestnuts because I didn't have any. Thank you for this recipient, I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Great recipe! My husband and son loved this one as well. I took the advice of others and traded the flour for 2 tbs of cornstarch. I served it over white rice and also added broccoli and red bell pepper which gave it some great color (and flavor). I think next time we'll try it with shrimp instead of chicken, but either way, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This was way too sweet for my husband and me. My kids didn't like it either. Wasn't terrible, just wasn't something I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Easy, family loved it. I did it in a wok ( chicken first, then prepared according to recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Today I made the recipe and my family and I enjoyed this delicious and heavenly dish!! I read other reviews. I just only added 1/2 cup of ketcup and reduced down to 1/2 cup of celery. I followed all these ingredients. The sauce became thickened!. I grilled the chicken before I chopped them and stirred them in the sauce sauepan. It smelled so sweet! Next time I will make half of floured chicken and grilled chicken separately because my 5-year-old girl wanted the floured chicken. The sauce tasted the exact flavor from Chopsticks restarant!! That is what I desperately looked for many many many years!! Thank you very much, Sal!!! This recipe is in my box!! You should win this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I did add some onion and also about 1/4 cup of ketchup to the sauce and omitted the celery because I don't care for it. It was really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wildwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I went a step further. I added sweet pickle slices, which increased the flavor intensity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
We thought this was really good! Everyone, kids included really enjoyed it. I think I would decrease the sugar next time. I did decrease the vinegar qty - as others suggested. The can of pineapple I bought was only 14oz, so I added OJ to make up the difference. We will do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravenhurst, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States