Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
OhhMyyy I just love this recipe. I added yellow, red and orange peppers and a carrot along with all the stuff called for. I used left over chicken nuggets cut up from McDonalds instead of the chicken strips because my silly husband thought buying a 50 pack would be yummy for SuperBowl Sunday. Needless to say they didn't get eaten and I didn't want to waste them. I did everything else the same. The sauce is what made this. I couldn't believe how great it tasted.(because I made it). sal this is a great recipe. p.s. If you are making this and think after you add the veggies that you need more sauce, wait! I saw how full the pan was and started to make another batch of the sauce so I would have enough for the chicken. But after simmering just a couple of minutes and then dumping the chicken in it was fine. I couldn't believe it, even with the extra veggies I added it was a perfect amount. I will be serving this over rice(even though hubby hates rice) and see how everyone likes it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crs4daz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My family loved this!!! I did not use the nuts and added some chopped onions, but i followed the recipe for everything else. It was quick and easy.I will cook it again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I thought this was a good recipe, however it was a lil on the tangy side, next time I will cut back on the vinegar. My son gave this a 3 1/2 I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I was not in my own kitchen making this dish which made my life difficult. I only had one medium saucepan so I fried up the chicken with a bit of pepper and garlic powder and cut it into pieces after it was cooked. I deviated from the recipe and cooked the veggies first because I don't like them raw. I took them off the stove then cooked the sauce and added the chicken and veggies back in. It was delicious and my grandma said it was the best chicken she ever had. She was probably exaggerating, but it was really good. Will make it again! oh and I used cornstarch instead of flour. I also only used a forth of a cup of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was a decent recipe, but I altered it a little to suit my taste. After I cut up the chicken, I mixed in minced ginger and garlic and let it sit for a bit. That really improved the flavour of the chicken. I added quartered onions and sliced carrots in addition to the green pepper and celery. Since I had some fresh pineapple, I used that instead and compensated with orange juice instead of the pineapple liquid I would have had from the can. I prefer using cornstarch mixed in with a little cold water instead of flour. But otherwise followed the rest of the recipe, turned out pretty good. The vinegar/sugar ratio is right-on and gives the dish a nice sweet tanginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Yum! We had this for dinner on Friday night and my husband has requested it again for tonight. It tastes just like carryout Chinese. I did follow the other reviewers suggestion of mixing ketchup with cornstarch and I also dipped the chicken in soy sauce and flour and cooked it some vegetable oil. This will definitely be in our meal plan rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was a bit too sweet for our taste, so I will cut back on the brown sugar next time. But other than that, it was a hit. I also used Wondra rather than regular flour because I am terrible at making smooth sauces. It went well with fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYIM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Family LOVED it, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Heikkinen Kelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
This was my first time making sweet and sour chicken. I fried my chicken with a liquid batter and I used the cornstarch, apple cider vinegar and ketchup. It was really good and the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsShayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Yummy! I cooked chicken in a large skillet then added sauce ingredients (using cornstarch instead of flour, premixed it in the soy sauce to avoid lumps), let it thicken in the skillet then added the vegetables (substituted 1" pieces of vidalia onion instead of the celery). Less dishes to wash! Simple, easy, delicious! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States