Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This was an excellent dinner! I added onion, zuchini, and some red pepper to the recipe. The more vegis not rotting in the fridge, the better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Omg, this is awesome! The only adjustment I made in the sauce was substituting 2T cornstarch for the 1/4C flour. I stir fried the veggies in peanut oil for a few minutes before adding the sauce, which I prepared in a separate pot. I used yellow bell peppers and added some onion and a few carrots. The sauce is perfect as is ... not to sweet, not too sour. Oh, and I used rice wine vinegar because I had it on hand. I would give it 10 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
It was a big hit in our house! Even my pickiest eater liked it. I didn't change much except to add a pack of frozen stir fry veggies which I thawed first. I put them in the sauce to warm through, then added the chicken. It didn't get as thick as I would have liked so I just added the rice in at the end, mixed all up and served. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
excellent thanks for the good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Crystal Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Nothing wrong with this meal. Gets high in calories with enough rice added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Bumphrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Just tried this recipe for the first time tonight. It was really just perfect! I baked 2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken thighs first and stirred them in just before serving over hot rice. Hubby and kids said this one is definitely a repeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
this sauce is sooooo good. i will definately use it again with different meats. i also substituted 2 tbs of corn starch for the flour. no celery, i used a red bell pepper and a green bell pepper and cut the chicken into chunks. soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Good dish, sweet but good. Sauce had a nice consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Excellent recipe. The only thing I might cut back on is the brown sugar. It was a little bit too sweet. I made it with red pepper, water chestnuts, peanuts and served it over rice. Delicious and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was delicious. However, I really made a lot of changes. First of all, I used drumsticks and I browned them in some oil first. I removed the chicken and added it to another pan containing the sauce mixture. I carmelized the vegetables in the first pan. (I used red, yellow and green bell peppers and onions). I let both cook for about 15 minutes, then put them together in the same pan, added the pineapple and cooked for about another 5 minutes. I too had used some extra pineapple juice. It turned out great... more like an Hawaiian dish than Chinese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Encino, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States