Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Was very delicious, I didn't particularly like the pineapple chunks so next time I will leave them out. I used lots of different vegetables, and the water chestnuts added the perfect crunch. Served it over white rice and was thoroughly enjoyed. Will make this again, maybe trying with pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I have not made this yet. I was really appreciative that cornstarch was recommended instead of flower. My youngest daughter has a wheat allergy and it is a challenge to adapt recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe was just o.k. I found it to be WAY too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was much better than I thought it might be as the vegetables were more or less just heated. The celery and water chestnuts gave it a nice crunch. I used a combination of different coloured peppers and adjusted quantities of everything based on how much I had. We used corn starch to thicken but added it closer to the end of cooking, first mixing with hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Very good and easy. I thought it was alittle sweet, but no one else did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe but I would definitely say that there is about three times more sauce than needed. I will make it again and cut the sauce ingredients in thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Another winner, thanks for the recipe! I also fried my chicken in a cornstarch coating, and then subbed cornstarch for flour in the sauce (mixed with ketchup). We didn't have -ANY- of the veggies but even without this was a great recipe. Sure to be a winner with the veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is Wonderful!! I cubed the chicken and sauteed it in sesame oil. Based on the 1st review I mixed 2 T. cornstarch in 3/4 C. ketchup and use that as a thickening agent instead of the 1/4 C. flour. Used green and orange bell pepper. Will try adding unsalted cashews next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
the batter for the chicken is great, the chicken looks and tastes just like a chinese restaurant. The sweet and sour sauce didnt come out so well for me...ive made it twice but it just doesnt taste right to me. maybe just me and my family's taste buds? idk...we just get some sweet and sour from walmart and its awesome! i make this chicken all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Turned out great! Definitely a keeper! My only adjustment was adding a quartered onion and sauteing vegetables with fresh ginger root (later removed) and fresh minced garlic before adding them to the sauce. I used cornstarch, instead of flour and let the sauce reduce a little bit with the piece of ginger root that I later removed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States