Sweet and Sour Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by JPERRY45
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Used 1/4cup ketchup & 2Tbs cornstarch, instead flour. Also used up left over rotisserie chicken :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
DELICIOUS is all I can say. My family loved it. The only thing different I did was add some garlic and onion powder. I do think it needed that, as it gave it more flavor. My family begged me to make it again soon, so I guess this will become a regular staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I thought this was way too sweet. However, my hubby and son loved it and told me it was a keeper recipe. I did mix 1/4 c. catsup with 2 Tbl corn starch to thicken as recommended by others. I followed the rest of recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
lovely recipe didnt add the chestnuts, and wouldnt use as much pineapple next time but served with rice is really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Excellent recipe! The sauce was a good light flavor. I loved that it called for plain, unbreaded chicken. I made two changes: 1-orange juice instead of pineapple juice(I was trying to use up some fresh pineapple in the fridge so there was no juice) and 2-I only had red peppers on hand and it gave the dish a good burst of color with the green celery and yellow pineapple. This is going to be a staple in our home! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I made a couple of changes and it was fabulous. I used a package of frozen popcorn chicken (walmart brand and baked according to directions) and I skipped the listed veggies and used a frozen chinese mix of veggies (cooked of course). I held back on some of the pinapple to make room for all the vegetables and chicken. It was so easy and quick I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was delicious. Next time I will use more vegetables - broccoli, carrots, edamame... Also the pineapple was too sweet in the sauce. I would put it on top as a garnish or leave it out altogether (not the juice, just the chunks)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I had this recipe a long time ago, but lost my recipe book. I could remember the ingredients but not the amounts to use. This recipes is exactly like the one I lost except it uses flour instead of cornstarch. I got rave reviews when I made this. Instead of chestnuts and celery I used a green and a red pepper. Next time, I might try different vegetables like broccoli and snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was a quick and easy meal and tasted great!! I did add ketchup as others recommended and used 1/4 cup vinegar and 1/4 cup of water instead of the full 1/2 cup of vinegar. I also didn't add water chestnuts because I didn't have any. Thank you for this recipient, I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Great recipe! My husband and son loved this one as well. I took the advice of others and traded the flour for 2 tbs of cornstarch. I served it over white rice and also added broccoli and red bell pepper which gave it some great color (and flavor). I think next time we'll try it with shrimp instead of chicken, but either way, this one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States