Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I liked it. Make sure you don't just glob the cornstarch into the sauce. Mix it with water prior and ease it in. The sauce will be typical corn starch "gel" consistency, but tastes just like the stuff from the Chinese restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vernal Douglas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Turned out great. Kids said it was better than the Chinese restaurant we go to. The only thing I had to change was add an extra tbls of corn starch and water to help thicken the sauce. Thought the batter was a little thick but went with and and was very happy with the results! Will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I made this for company and got raves. I didnt change one thing and served it with a starter of Hot and Sour soup and used Chinese Sticky Rice to serve the chicken over. Next timeI will double the sauce as someone suggested. I only used 6 breasts and didnt really have enough sauce to go around. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Delicious!!! I love the batter on the chicken, and we added the pineapple to the sauce, along with some red and green peppers, naturally turned the sauce orange, and pureed it all!!! It is delicious!~!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twospaffz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I tried this and it is good, although I have had tastier sauce. I love the batter recipe! also I think if I make it again I may marinate the chicken in soy sauce or something before coating it in batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This is good base for a sweet and sour chicken recipe. My family loves Chinese food and found this to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This has become a favorite to serve to my friends. Everyone RAVES about the flavor, and they always ask to take a doggy bag home with the leftovers! This is by far my favorite sweet and sour chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
The sauce was very good, but the batter on the chicken was tasteless and heavy. ER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This recipe was time consuming and troublesome, and after all of the time spent making it, my family and I did not like it at all! I will never ever make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I couldn't believe it came out right the first time, but I did put my twist on it. Instead of using only chicken breast, I used chicken thighs and some breast. Breast are so dry when fried to a golden brown. After making the sauce I added some dry chili peppers and a dash of red pepper flakes. While the sauce was still hot I added the bell peppers. Then after I completed the chicken , I mix all ingredient together. (NOTE:) If you use only chicken breast, you will need to use some old cooking oil with fresh oil for color so it wont cook to long and dry out. We had it with shrimp fried Rice (recipe on this site) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 737) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States