Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This is good base for a sweet and sour chicken recipe. My family loves Chinese food and found this to be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This has become a favorite to serve to my friends. Everyone RAVES about the flavor, and they always ask to take a doggy bag home with the leftovers! This is by far my favorite sweet and sour chicken recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
The sauce was very good, but the batter on the chicken was tasteless and heavy. ER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This recipe was time consuming and troublesome, and after all of the time spent making it, my family and I did not like it at all! I will never ever make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I couldn't believe it came out right the first time, but I did put my twist on it. Instead of using only chicken breast, I used chicken thighs and some breast. Breast are so dry when fried to a golden brown. After making the sauce I added some dry chili peppers and a dash of red pepper flakes. While the sauce was still hot I added the bell peppers. Then after I completed the chicken , I mix all ingredient together. (NOTE:) If you use only chicken breast, you will need to use some old cooking oil with fresh oil for color so it wont cook to long and dry out. We had it with shrimp fried Rice (recipe on this site) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This is great. No changes required. I will double up the sauce the next time I make it. The batter recipe gives me many ideas. Oh wait I did change the way I served it. I put the pineapple chunks and green peppers in the sauce and poured it over the chicken. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Tried this recipe today . Really nice pineapple flavour . I did make a couple changes to suit our diet didn't use the coating just fried the chicken in a little olive oil with a little soya sauce , dried onions & pepper . Also when I made the sauce I used agave nectar instead of sugar . No peppers for me so added some sliced carrots for colour . I also only used 4 pieces of chicken but didn't change the sauce amount . Had with plain rice and sliced tomatoes on the side .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Messy, big wast of 2 1/2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dagus Mines, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Did not like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I basically used this recipe for the sweet & sour sauce. I didn't add the food coloring and it came out great! Instead of deep frying the chicken, I just sauteed it in a little olive oil. Also, I served it with brown rice couscous. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States