Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by coffeebeansrock
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I used fresh pineapple but had to buy a small can of pineapple juice to make the sauce. Love sweet n sour. Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wabash, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I tried this last night for dinner and it was awesome, however I did make some changes. Instead of raw green pepper I battered the slices and deep fried them and added salt right a way. used the larger can of pineapple, and served the chicken over white rice. MY HUSBAND THIS WAS DIFFENTLY A KEEPER RECIPE. Samie Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This ended up being much easier to make than I thought and it came out really well. I did have a little trouble getting the batter to stick to the chicken for some reason, not sure if that was the recipe or user error. I would definitely make this again. Everyone really liked it and it's even better than the version most Chinese delivery places serve. The only change I made was a little squirt of sriracha instead of the good coloring. It didn't make it spicy but added a little color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was pretty good. The health conscious part of me didn't batter and deep fry the chicken - just fried it a little in a wok and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This recipe turned out to be even more tastier than I imagined. I added broccoli and onions to the dish (saute separately) and it was quite the hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
OMG! This was exactly I was looking for...a deep fried chicken dish with flavor!!! Perfect..so much better than the local Chinese restaurant! A little time consuming BUT SO WORTH IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalen
Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this yesterday and am very pleased with the results! Followed the recipe exactly except for using fresh pineapple and fresh pineapple juice. Will definitely be making this again soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crprice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Amazing! I tried it and my husband and son said we don't have to go to Panda Express anymore, lol. They ate it all up!! This was a very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Okay, Sauce made chicken coating fall off and become chewy. Used food colorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I've been looking for a batter to make Chinese chicken for a long time. This one was delicious. I did add some salt and pepper and garlic powder to the chicken before adding it to the thick batter. It helped a lot since the batter is not too seasoned. The fried chicken can be used as a base for a lot of different dishes or just plain chicken nuggets. I doubled the sauce as some suggested but ended up having too much. I didn't mix it together since I didn't want the chicken to get soggy, so that may have made a difference with the extra sauce. Took it to a family event and it was enjoyed by people from 3 years old to 63 years old. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 737) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States