Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Love this recipe, as is and have added things also to change it up. I do not use food coloring as the color of the sauce doesnt really matter to me. Thanks for an easy sweet n sour chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI_ILLUSION_ST

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe, I made it tonight and me and my boyfriend loved it! This is one of my favourite Chinese dishes and I was so happy to find an easy, simple and delicious recipe for it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Very good, I found that I prefer to use pineapple tidbits rather than the larger chunks, so you get smaller bits of pineapple more evenly distributed throughout the dish. We also like to sprinkle some Chinese Noodles over the top for a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly as written and I loved it! The only thing I would do differently next time is up the vinegar to 3/4 cup. It was not nearly tart enough for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
this was one of the best sweet and sour chickens I have ever had. I made a big serving of it for my family and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
the flavour of the batter and the sauce was very good but I added about 2 tbsp of vinegar to the batter to make it lighter. I also thought the batter was too thick and would make the batter to chicken ratio too high so i added an extra 1/2 cup water to thin it out a bit. I also used Chinese rice vinegar in the sweet and sour sauce. If you use Chinese white rice vinegar, it will not be as tart. Chinese white vinegar, found in most grocery stores in the Asian aisle, is less acidic and milder in flavour. This will be my go-to recipe for s and s chicken/pork. *you can use 1/4 cup ketchup instead of food colouring*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Seriously just like takeout! I've been searching forever for a good recipe since I have to eat gluten free and can't trust takeout/restaurant food. I only made the sauce (with regular sautéed chicken and peppers) and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elverson, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fulton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was a super easy and very tasty dish! Was quite tangy and a nice way to use leftover chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
The entire family said they would eat it again! I excluded the food coloring and the corn starch and used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I am glad I took advice of the earlier reviews and added powdered garlic and dried parsley to the batter. The chicken did take a lot longer than I expected, I'm glad I started early and then kept it warm in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Loved it- and so easy to make something fantastic! My family raves about this dish and says we don't have to get delivery from the Chinese place. I tripled the pineapple and pineapple juice and doubled the rest of the sauce ingredients. I put the pineapple directly in the sauce. This gives more sauce to put over rice or noodles. This is just too-oo good! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Lindahu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States