Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This ended up being much easier to make than I thought and it came out really well. I did have a little trouble getting the batter to stick to the chicken for some reason, not sure if that was the recipe or user error. I would definitely make this again. Everyone really liked it and it's even better than the version most Chinese delivery places serve. The only change I made was a little squirt of sriracha instead of the good coloring. It didn't make it spicy but added a little color and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This was pretty good. The health conscious part of me didn't batter and deep fry the chicken - just fried it a little in a wok and it's still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This recipe turned out to be even more tastier than I imagined. I added broccoli and onions to the dish (saute separately) and it was quite the hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
OMG! This was exactly I was looking for...a deep fried chicken dish with flavor!!! Perfect..so much better than the local Chinese restaurant! A little time consuming BUT SO WORTH IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalen
Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this yesterday and am very pleased with the results! Followed the recipe exactly except for using fresh pineapple and fresh pineapple juice. Will definitely be making this again soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crprice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Amazing! I tried it and my husband and son said we don't have to go to Panda Express anymore, lol. They ate it all up!! This was a very easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Okay, Sauce made chicken coating fall off and become chewy. Used food colorings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I've been looking for a batter to make Chinese chicken for a long time. This one was delicious. I did add some salt and pepper and garlic powder to the chicken before adding it to the thick batter. It helped a lot since the batter is not too seasoned. The fried chicken can be used as a base for a lot of different dishes or just plain chicken nuggets. I doubled the sauce as some suggested but ended up having too much. I didn't mix it together since I didn't want the chicken to get soggy, so that may have made a difference with the extra sauce. Took it to a family event and it was enjoyed by people from 3 years old to 63 years old. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I loved it.. when i first cooked it.. it is good.. but my mom said the servig is not only for 8.. it is too much for 8 and lack of sweet and sour soup.. but thats okay.. at least im learning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This recipe was really pretty easy to make and I added more vegetables. It was great my husband even said he was impressed and after 35 years that was a big compliment...lol...try it and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 725) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States