Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. I had problems with the cornstarch not dissolving when I added it to the Sweet-n-Sour sauce but I just continued to stir with a whisk and it all blended. My family loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
The chicken part of the recipe was amazing!! It fried up in my wok and looked better then the take home by a long shot. The batter was light and had wonderful flavor. I didn't care much for the sauce so I used the one on here called WOW sweet and sour. My husband and I could not get enough of the combination of these two recipes. This was hands down the BEST S&S Chicken either of us have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERMAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I have to say that this recipe was the best I have ever had. I did add to this recipe tho, I did add more salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder and ground ginger to the batter ( to my taste). I cut up both green and red pepper and also added onion and and then I cut up 3/4 of a orange as well and added to this. For the sauce I not only used pineapple but I added orange juice from a orange and then cut up about 1/4 of the orange and added to the sauce and I added red food color instead of orange, I also had to add more cornstarch to this to make it thicker ( to your preference). Whomever wants to give this recipe lower then 5 stars just don't know what good food is! Just saying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salina Beck Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquand, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
It was amaaaaazing!!!! The fried chicken on its own was fantastic! I'm going to use that for chicken strips/nuggets, etc... We put the sauce on its own, the bell pepper and pineapple on its own, and the chicken on its own and served them separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This recipe was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly except I did cook the green pepper pieces in a frying pan with a little oil. My husband does not like green pepper too crunchy. The whole family said this recipe was a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
Our family really enjoyed this recipe tonight. I would say that the sauce needed to stay on the heat to thicken, it was way too runny after turning the heat off and adding the slurry. I did the amount of sauce it calls for (feeding 8 people) but halved the chicken and batter and it was a good ratio. It fed our family of four and still had leftovers. I also added the bell peppers and pineapple chunks directly to the sauce. I like the peppers to soften a bit. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I made this for my daughter she loved it. I made it exactly like it was written. good job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piecookiemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
This was great. Restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Photo by ben
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
tastes like the real deal very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
My husband loves sweat and sour chicken and loved this. I added onion and used red and yellow bell peppers. I put the veggies in the completed sauce and put a top on the pan. Then, I fried up the chicken. That way the veggies were a little softer than if I had just put them on the plate, raw. I think the sauce needs something else but am not sure what it is. A little more flavor from a spice but just not expert enough in Asian cuisine to know what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States