Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
the flavour of the batter and the sauce was very good but I added about 2 tbsp of vinegar to the batter to make it lighter. I also thought the batter was too thick and would make the batter to chicken ratio too high so i added an extra 1/2 cup water to thin it out a bit. I also used Chinese rice vinegar in the sweet and sour sauce. If you use Chinese white rice vinegar, it will not be as tart. Chinese white vinegar, found in most grocery stores in the Asian aisle, is less acidic and milder in flavour. This will be my go-to recipe for s and s chicken/pork. *you can use 1/4 cup ketchup instead of food colouring*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
Seriously just like takeout! I've been searching forever for a good recipe since I have to eat gluten free and can't trust takeout/restaurant food. I only made the sauce (with regular sautéed chicken and peppers) and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elverson, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fulton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was a super easy and very tasty dish! Was quite tangy and a nice way to use leftover chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
The entire family said they would eat it again! I excluded the food coloring and the corn starch and used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I am glad I took advice of the earlier reviews and added powdered garlic and dried parsley to the batter. The chicken did take a lot longer than I expected, I'm glad I started early and then kept it warm in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Loved it- and so easy to make something fantastic! My family raves about this dish and says we don't have to get delivery from the Chinese place. I tripled the pineapple and pineapple juice and doubled the rest of the sauce ingredients. I put the pineapple directly in the sauce. This gives more sauce to put over rice or noodles. This is just too-oo good! Thanks for sharing this recipe, Lindahu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Did not like the sauce at all!! Not sure if it was too much vinegar or just the wrong kind. Maybe next time I will use rice wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I followed this recipe to the T (oops! I actually seasoned the raw chicken pieces with 1/2 teaspoon of salt and used a 20oz can of pineapple chunks) and I have got to say I agree that this recipe is definitely better than the restaurant entree. I fried the small pieces for about 8-9 minutes. I will for sure make this again. My family loved it!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this for weekend guests and it was beautiful and delicious. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Made this for dinner and it was AMAZING!! Definately making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This is okay it needs to be tweeted a bit. I think I'll do that next time, if I do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States