Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This was excellent!! Picky hubs thought it was better than the take out place close to us. I will definitely be making this again. The only thing I will do different is use less vinegar in the sauce. It was just a bit to "zingy" for us. Mine thickened up perfectly. I did saute a red and yellow bell pepper and then proceeded with the sauce in the same pan. I used a 20 oz can of pineapple in its own juice and used it all. This does make a good bit of sauce so I'm going to freeze it and have it ready for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2015
I made this almost exactly as written with one or two small changes here or there. Firstly, I seasoned the batter with a little garlic powder and a smidge of parsley. And for some reason the sauce refused to thicken no matter how much of the cornstarch mixture I added to it, so I swapped it for a little flour and water until it thickened up.. possibly more than called for, but it still worked out fine for my family. The last change was that I added finely diced pineapple and a pinch of cayenne pepper to the sauce so to bring out the sweetness. Aside from that, the recipe was basically the same. The family gave it rave reviews... so much so that I didn't even get to properly taste any of it because it was gone in a matter of hours (I started making it late in the evening so I could take it to work for lunch the very next day). This recipe is hands down a keeper! Very, very awesome! Just as good as any Chinese restaurant I've been to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SquidTheKitchenEnthusiast

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
AMAZING! It was a big hit with the family. I recommend this to everyone. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I made the dish last night and my husband love it. I used was only half the sugar and no added sugar pineapple chunks. I loved the less sugar. The dish was served over brown rice. I changed the recipe just the small changed just the stated. -- Kia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This recipe was outstanding. The leftovers for next day was even more tasty! However, I did not add the amount of water the recipe called for. I added 1 cup and then 1/4 with the cornstarch. Still a little to watery so will do less water next time. I also felt like the sauce needed some hot pepper and salt! The chicken i followed as is and it came out perfect! Even my picky husband told me this is a keeper! He hates fruit in his food so that is a nice compliment! Highly recommend this recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I made this tonight, but used leftover diced chicken breast because I didn't have any fresh chicken. Instead of battering it, I just sauteed it in a bit of vegetable oil and added granulated garlic and chopped frozen green peppers until it was warm. I made the sauce exactly as the recipe, but added it to the pan with the chicken and peppers so as not to dirty up another pan. I had a few leftover "boneless chicken wings" which I added to the kids' plates. I liked it and so did my younger son, but I think if I made it this way again, I'd add a vegetable for some texture, such as broccoli, water chestnuts and/or carrots. Also would use a bit less sugar, since I prefer it to be a bit tangier. Might try a Splenda/sugar mix next time. Just a tad too sweet, but still pretty good. I topped it with sliced green onions. I also need to tweak the color - red and yellow didn't make orange, more like a coral pink color, which reminded me of raw chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
this was really good loved the pineapple made it with rice i just put it all together though instead of pouring the sauce over the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
My husband and I made this last night and loved it. The only changes I made to the recipe were we found the vinegar way to intense and the sauce not quite sweet enough for our tastes so I added additional sugar (roughly about 1/4 cup) and cooked sauce a few minutes to dissolve. I also used red food coloring instead of orange. The additional sugar cut the strength of the vinegar and the sweet and sour sauce turned out perfect. I served our sauce in little bowls as a dipping sauce so that our left over chicken could be warmed up the next day and not be soggy. The leftover sauce gets very thick once cold and stays thick when warmed back up but retains it's wonderful flavor. Will be adding this recipe to my favorite recipes from now on. I didn't bother with using chunk pineapple (didn't have any)so I just used the juice from a can of crushed pineapple and will be using the pineapple in an upside down cake later. Thanks Linda for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. I had problems with the cornstarch not dissolving when I added it to the Sweet-n-Sour sauce but I just continued to stir with a whisk and it all blended. My family loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
The chicken part of the recipe was amazing!! It fried up in my wok and looked better then the take home by a long shot. The batter was light and had wonderful flavor. I didn't care much for the sauce so I used the one on here called WOW sweet and sour. My husband and I could not get enough of the combination of these two recipes. This was hands down the BEST S&S Chicken either of us have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERMAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States