Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I made the dish last night and my husband love it. I used was only half the sugar and no added sugar pineapple chunks. I loved the less sugar. The dish was served over brown rice. I changed the recipe just the small changed just the stated. -- Kia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This recipe was outstanding. The leftovers for next day was even more tasty! However, I did not add the amount of water the recipe called for. I added 1 cup and then 1/4 with the cornstarch. Still a little to watery so will do less water next time. I also felt like the sauce needed some hot pepper and salt! The chicken i followed as is and it came out perfect! Even my picky husband told me this is a keeper! He hates fruit in his food so that is a nice compliment! Highly recommend this recipe! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I made this tonight, but used leftover diced chicken breast because I didn't have any fresh chicken. Instead of battering it, I just sauteed it in a bit of vegetable oil and added granulated garlic and chopped frozen green peppers until it was warm. I made the sauce exactly as the recipe, but added it to the pan with the chicken and peppers so as not to dirty up another pan. I had a few leftover "boneless chicken wings" which I added to the kids' plates. I liked it and so did my younger son, but I think if I made it this way again, I'd add a vegetable for some texture, such as broccoli, water chestnuts and/or carrots. Also would use a bit less sugar, since I prefer it to be a bit tangier. Might try a Splenda/sugar mix next time. Just a tad too sweet, but still pretty good. I topped it with sliced green onions. I also need to tweak the color - red and yellow didn't make orange, more like a coral pink color, which reminded me of raw chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
this was really good loved the pineapple made it with rice i just put it all together though instead of pouring the sauce over the top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
My husband and I made this last night and loved it. The only changes I made to the recipe were we found the vinegar way to intense and the sauce not quite sweet enough for our tastes so I added additional sugar (roughly about 1/4 cup) and cooked sauce a few minutes to dissolve. I also used red food coloring instead of orange. The additional sugar cut the strength of the vinegar and the sweet and sour sauce turned out perfect. I served our sauce in little bowls as a dipping sauce so that our left over chicken could be warmed up the next day and not be soggy. The leftover sauce gets very thick once cold and stays thick when warmed back up but retains it's wonderful flavor. Will be adding this recipe to my favorite recipes from now on. I didn't bother with using chunk pineapple (didn't have any)so I just used the juice from a can of crushed pineapple and will be using the pineapple in an upside down cake later. Thanks Linda for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is an excellent recipe. I had problems with the cornstarch not dissolving when I added it to the Sweet-n-Sour sauce but I just continued to stir with a whisk and it all blended. My family loved it! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
The chicken part of the recipe was amazing!! It fried up in my wok and looked better then the take home by a long shot. The batter was light and had wonderful flavor. I didn't care much for the sauce so I used the one on here called WOW sweet and sour. My husband and I could not get enough of the combination of these two recipes. This was hands down the BEST S&S Chicken either of us have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGERMAX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I have to say that this recipe was the best I have ever had. I did add to this recipe tho, I did add more salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, onion powder and ground ginger to the batter ( to my taste). I cut up both green and red pepper and also added onion and and then I cut up 3/4 of a orange as well and added to this. For the sauce I not only used pineapple but I added orange juice from a orange and then cut up about 1/4 of the orange and added to the sauce and I added red food color instead of orange, I also had to add more cornstarch to this to make it thicker ( to your preference). Whomever wants to give this recipe lower then 5 stars just don't know what good food is! Just saying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salina Beck Fischer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquand, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
It was amaaaaazing!!!! The fried chicken on its own was fantastic! I'm going to use that for chicken strips/nuggets, etc... We put the sauce on its own, the bell pepper and pineapple on its own, and the chicken on its own and served them separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
This recipe was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly except I did cook the green pepper pieces in a frying pan with a little oil. My husband does not like green pepper too crunchy. The whole family said this recipe was a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States