Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This was my first attempt at really frying anything with batter, and suffice it to say that it didn't go well. It's not the recipe's fault, I'm sure, but it was pretty much a total disaster; the best I can say is that I didn't fill the kitchen with smoke :( I had to cook the chicken in four batches because I didn't have a big enough skillet, so it took me HOURS. The first batch I didn't cook enough, but somehow the batter all stuck to the bottom of the pan and burned. The second batch, I compensated by completely overcooking. I was ready to give up after that, but I had a big thing of chicken and sauce that I hated to just throw out. The third and fourth batches looked slightly better than the other two, but the consistency of the batter just isn't quite right, and I don't know why. I guess I'll have to try this again when I'm a little more experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by molina411
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Delicious! I took advice of others and doubled the sauce which was def a good idea. My husband was running late from work the night I made this and the chicken cooled off by the time he arrived. I took another poster's advice and popped it in the oven for 15 min at 350 degrees F. Perfect solution! Followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I both loved it! Will for sure make again. Oh, forgot to mention that I took another's advice and flavored the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder when I cut them into chunks and marinated for an hour in the fridge. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder in the flour mixture. I would suggest doing this as it will give the chicken more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Love this recipe, it is my husbands favorite! We follow the recipe exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My family loved it! Tasted just like we ordered it from a restraunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea M Quaranto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Overall, this was great for my first attempt at Sweet and Sour Chicken. This recipe was good, other than the flavor of the sauce (it was missing a little something, sort of fell flat on the palette, I will be searching for a better sauce recipe for future use). I added the pineapple (along with it's juices) and the peppers directly to the sauce at the beginning of preparation of said sauce. I have never had sweet and sour chicken served with raw peppers in a restaurant, in my experience the peppers have always been slightly wilted/cooked when served. I also eliminated the orange food coloring because of the health hazards associated with artificial colorings/dyes. If you do not own a wok or deep fryer - simply use a large stock pot with a thick bottom (to evenly distribute and maintain heat), fill the pot with about 4 inches of oil (enough to not only cover the chicken when it's frying, but also allow for it to float in the oil so it does not stick to your pan), bring oil to temperature over medium heat (temperature setting may vary depending upon the type of stove you have, I have a gas range), and most importantly be patient while waiting for the oil to reach the proper temperature (otherwise the batter on the chicken will not crisp up/puff out right and your chicken will be overcooked/dry). I think I will double the amount of salt & pepper in the batter next time as well. My hubby loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
My family loves this. They are always excited when I am making it. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made this the other night, we own a small fryer so it made cooking them a bit easier. It was SOOO good. It tasted even better than our local Chinese place. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of the food coloring. Although in the future I will be using the food coloring, the reason being is that the sauce without it is translucent white, which makes it harder to see when it's all put together with rice and chicken, so you cant really tell which bites have sauce and which bites don't. This recipe is amazing and at the top of our favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
A hit with the whole picky family eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe! Family loved it! Will certainly make again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrattsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
My daughter, a sweet and sour chicken aficionado, said this was better than restaurant quality! A huge compliment, considering that's the only type of Chinese she'll eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 731) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States