Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
My family loved it! Tasted just like we ordered it from a restraunt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea M Quaranto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Overall, this was great for my first attempt at Sweet and Sour Chicken. This recipe was good, other than the flavor of the sauce (it was missing a little something, sort of fell flat on the palette, I will be searching for a better sauce recipe for future use). I added the pineapple (along with it's juices) and the peppers directly to the sauce at the beginning of preparation of said sauce. I have never had sweet and sour chicken served with raw peppers in a restaurant, in my experience the peppers have always been slightly wilted/cooked when served. I also eliminated the orange food coloring because of the health hazards associated with artificial colorings/dyes. If you do not own a wok or deep fryer - simply use a large stock pot with a thick bottom (to evenly distribute and maintain heat), fill the pot with about 4 inches of oil (enough to not only cover the chicken when it's frying, but also allow for it to float in the oil so it does not stick to your pan), bring oil to temperature over medium heat (temperature setting may vary depending upon the type of stove you have, I have a gas range), and most importantly be patient while waiting for the oil to reach the proper temperature (otherwise the batter on the chicken will not crisp up/puff out right and your chicken will be overcooked/dry). I think I will double the amount of salt & pepper in the batter next time as well. My hubby loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
My family loves this. They are always excited when I am making it. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I made this the other night, we own a small fryer so it made cooking them a bit easier. It was SOOO good. It tasted even better than our local Chinese place. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of the food coloring. Although in the future I will be using the food coloring, the reason being is that the sauce without it is translucent white, which makes it harder to see when it's all put together with rice and chicken, so you cant really tell which bites have sauce and which bites don't. This recipe is amazing and at the top of our favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
A hit with the whole picky family eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Great recipe! Family loved it! Will certainly make again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrattsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
My daughter, a sweet and sour chicken aficionado, said this was better than restaurant quality! A huge compliment, considering that's the only type of Chinese she'll eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This a rock star recipe. I doubled the sauce thinking that it would not be enough but the recipe would have been perfect. I also added red peppers, onions, carrots, snow pea pods. My kids honestly could not get enough of it and my wife said it was the best Chinese she has ever had. Also made fortune cookies with questions in them for dinner conversation. Found that recipe on this sure too. It might be easier to do take out but this recipe is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Will make this recipe again. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Mmmmhhh... Thanks to the reviews I made some changes to the recipe because I didn´t have the rising flour. Thank you for that. I graded it with a 4 star because the best thing of the recipe was the crispyness of the chicken and that was awesome! but I really didn´t enjoy that much the sauce... I saw the ingredients of the sauce and thought it was too plain and in the end it really was like that. Will try to change the sauce next time... but the chicken was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mhansmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States