Sweet and Sour Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I surprised my wife with this dish and she loved it. She is not a big fan of fried food, but found this coating to be very light and tasty. I am going to use shredded pineapple instead of chunk, and am going to try pork this time. Same sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is quite yummy! Following some other reviews, I put some salt and pepper and garlic powder on the chicken previous to cooking it & added a bit more garlic powder to the batter & it turned out well. I also sautéed onions, bell peppers & carrots and added them to the sauce, along with half the pineapple. I served this with rice. My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Loved thi, better than my normal chinese takeout! Hubby loved it too. Made two meals out of it since it's just us two. Easy recipe to make, I prepped most of the items during the day and then it was just throw it together. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Hubby really loved this and that is the reason for the 5 stars. For me, it was good, but it was a lot of work and I wasn't impressed with the sauce. There is so much cornstarch that it becomes gelatinous and the orange food coloring just looks fake. This has to be served immediately as the breading gets soft in a very short time frame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Amazing!! Made such a lovely dinner for myself and the kids! I did not have the cornstarch and I used some leftover sauce (since I didn't have any pineapple) but the chicken turned out soooo good. I have a hard time getting my son to eat but he ate this up. Tastes like the China Palace downtown made it :-) A++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is a very good recipe made it for the Hubby nad he raved all night over it, and he can be very fussy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dr.Marwa
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This recipe is just amazing..it tastes better than in restaurant..I presented it with stir fried noodles which i add some chilli ,green onion , soy sauce and oyster sauce to make it rich..the combination is more than perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This was my first attempt at really frying anything with batter, and suffice it to say that it didn't go well. It's not the recipe's fault, I'm sure, but it was pretty much a total disaster; the best I can say is that I didn't fill the kitchen with smoke :( I had to cook the chicken in four batches because I didn't have a big enough skillet, so it took me HOURS. The first batch I didn't cook enough, but somehow the batter all stuck to the bottom of the pan and burned. The second batch, I compensated by completely overcooking. I was ready to give up after that, but I had a big thing of chicken and sauce that I hated to just throw out. The third and fourth batches looked slightly better than the other two, but the consistency of the batter just isn't quite right, and I don't know why. I guess I'll have to try this again when I'm a little more experienced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by molina411
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Delicious! I took advice of others and doubled the sauce which was def a good idea. My husband was running late from work the night I made this and the chicken cooled off by the time he arrived. I took another poster's advice and popped it in the oven for 15 min at 350 degrees F. Perfect solution! Followed the recipe exactly. My husband and I both loved it! Will for sure make again. Oh, forgot to mention that I took another's advice and flavored the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic powder, and onion powder when I cut them into chunks and marinated for an hour in the fridge. I also added a teaspoon of garlic powder in the flour mixture. I would suggest doing this as it will give the chicken more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molina411

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Love this recipe, it is my husbands favorite! We follow the recipe exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 738) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States