Sweet and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
We really loved this, we are having it again tonight, this recipe makes quite alot for two people, but I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
My husband’s favorite soup is cabbage. I have searched for just the right recipe for years. My search is over!! He LOVED it! This recipe is sweet & sour cabbage soup sensational!! It makes approximately 10 quarts, so you will have enough for a crowd or enjoy the leftovers! Thank you for sharing, JOHNTHEBEAR, fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeBody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Awesome soup! The broth is incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DoxieGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I love this recipe, didn't change a thing. It is an authentic old world flavor that well worth the time and work. It freezes well and reheats beautifuly so don't worry about the volume -- in fact once you taste it you will be glad you have a full pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This was a decent recipe, but it lacked the richness of flavor that I am used to from other russian cabbage soup recipes I've tasted. It was also extremely heavy on the dill, even after halfing the requested amount. I think next time I might try sweetening it with wine instead, to add a more authentic feel and a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Awesome! I used leftover regular cabbage and simmered most of the day. Will freeze and take for lunch throughout the winter. Mmmm...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Lovely soup, though we didn't take the time to produce the wonders of home made broth. My suggestions/changes? a) With store bought broth, don't add salt until the end, then add only a touch at a time. once the salt limit is reached, it can be over reached quickly. b) if you want a more savory version, add plenty of pepper at the beginning (to taste), and then add salt to taste at the end. c) if you want a sweeter version, use red cabbage, then at the end, correct seasonings using balsamic vinegar, lemon juice, sugar, and then add salt only if needed - leaving out pepper entirely...., an utterly different soup, but a great change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Love this soup. The lemon juice provides just the right counterpoint to the sugar without the harshness of vinegar. This is comfort food at its healthful best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States