Sweet and Sour Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I served this dish with rice. It was pretty good. I put a good bit of soy sauce, extra garlic powder, a tablespoon or more of extra oats,and a pinch of red pepper flakes in it and I found it very flavorful and satisfying. It makes a good bit, and every member of my family enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe. Good use of very inexpensive cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This dish makes for a nice hearty meal. I used ground venison instead of the ground beef, because that is what I had on hand. My cabbage was coarsely shredded and not in a wedge, and I would make it that way again. I mixed up the tomato sauce, vinegar, brown sugar and pepper up in the morning so the flavors had time to meld before using. My hubby and I really enjoyed this dish and it is one that was even better the second day, reheated. Thanks digb for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
My family love this! It went perfect with some fried potatoes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I'm making this for the third time, and have found that the secret to taking it from good to fantastic is refrigerating it, then reheating. Makes it thicker and just brings it all together. Yummy and Weight Watcher friendly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
My family LOVED this meal! It was surprisingly simple to make for my big bunch, and even my children went back for seconds. I was woorried that the ACV would make the meal bitter, but the sauce was surprisingly mild with just the right amount of tang. Because there are so many of us, I increased the ground beef to two pounds. (I left all the other ingredient measurements the same.) I served it over arborio rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This recipe as described has very little flavor. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I served this with rice, excellent, quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I belong to a farm share delivery service and this week, I was given a head of cabbage. I have never cooked with cabbage before and went hunting for recipes. It turned out great! I cooked the cabbage for maybe ten extra minutes than suggested in the recipe, but other than that, didn't make any modifications. Delicious and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Excellent! I used 2# beef and a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, rather than the sauce. I also increased the onions, celery and peppers to adjust to the increased beef (I didn't bother to "re-size the recipe on my computer) My husband loved it and ate 2/3 of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARYL4
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
We really enjoyed this dish ! Only change made was adding celery salt for the celery, didn't have any, and omitting the salt. Great recipe ! Thanks for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States