Sweet and Sour Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
We made this recipe the other night and it was great! This recipe reminds me of stuffed cabbage....unstuffed. I would recommend doubling the sauce though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
We loved this. I only used a pinch of salt and reduced the beef to 1 pound, but otherwise made as written. Makes great leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was really good, a make-again. I used 1 lb ground beef, 1 whole onion, whole pepper, and 2 stalks celery. I drained the meat because, yuck. I added 1 TBSP jarred minced garlic and 1 TSP smoked paprika, because that's authentic to Czech versions of cabbage rolls, and I wanted a similar flavor profile. I would make 2 additional changes next time: I would slice the cabbage into long strands, because wedges took too long to cook (more than 15-20), and I'll add crushed red pepper because we love it. I served this over my own recipe for lemon-butter brown rice (198 calories per serving). With my changes, this recipe yielded 6 generous servings at 231 calories per serving, which was deliciously filling! Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by SHARYL4
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
We really enjoyed this dish ! Only change made was adding celery salt for the celery, didn't have any, and omitting the salt. Great recipe ! Thanks for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARYL4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA
Living In: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Excellent! I used 2# beef and a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes, rather than the sauce. I also increased the onions, celery and peppers to adjust to the increased beef (I didn't bother to "re-size the recipe on my computer) My husband loved it and ate 2/3 of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I belong to a farm share delivery service and this week, I was given a head of cabbage. I have never cooked with cabbage before and went hunting for recipes. It turned out great! I cooked the cabbage for maybe ten extra minutes than suggested in the recipe, but other than that, didn't make any modifications. Delicious and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I served this with rice, excellent, quick meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This recipe as described has very little flavor. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
My family LOVED this meal! It was surprisingly simple to make for my big bunch, and even my children went back for seconds. I was woorried that the ACV would make the meal bitter, but the sauce was surprisingly mild with just the right amount of tang. Because there are so many of us, I increased the ground beef to two pounds. (I left all the other ingredient measurements the same.) I served it over arborio rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I'm making this for the third time, and have found that the secret to taking it from good to fantastic is refrigerating it, then reheating. Makes it thicker and just brings it all together. Yummy and Weight Watcher friendly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States