Sweet and Sour Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This soooo close to a "mixed bean" recipe I used to impress! However, the carton containig my recipe box mysteriously disappeared as a consequence of my last household move. My feet are securely plantd in my hometown- so what I have will act as a stand-in stuffed cat. The difference b-tween the recipes is jelled cranberry sauce was the ingredient lending it's sweet and tangy taste. No vinegar, no sugar. Fear not! This is an excellent concoction..... Make it........soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I was just browsing through my recipes & found this. I made it years ago & I guess I saved it so I could rate it - to be sure I didn't make it again. I made this thinking it'd be a big hit (with all the good reviews), but no one liked it. A bunch of sweet & sour bean lovers I guess we aren't. This was too vinegary for me. Anyone trying it for the first time should hold back I think. Sorry I didn't like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
My family loved these beans! I'm not a fan of lima beans. The sauce was perfect combination to coat the lina beans. My pickest daughter loved it too! Will definitely be a staple in our household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I always add hamburger to my beans as well as a tad bit of liquid smoke, add to your liking, gives it that awesome smoke flavor, be careful not to add to much off the bat, you can always add more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I think this recipe definitely needs some well deserved attention. I ended up keeping them in the crock pot on low for 8 hours, because I didn't read ahead and planned on making it while I was at work. There was the perfect blend of sweet from the brown sugar and sour from the vinegar. I was a bit worried about the lima beans, but they ended up turning out as a creamy delicious bean. I paired it with coleslaw and hot dogs and the guys loved it. These will definitely be made again in our house! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
I've made a nearly-identical version of this since the 70's and I love it! Everyone seems to. My version doesn't have kidney beans and only calls for 10 slices of bacon. It's still the same...thanks for reminding me of this favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is so delicious - i couldn't stop "testing" it before that 70 mins was up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My mother in law makes a recipe similar to this. I've not asked her for her recipe yet, so this was a great stand in. My husband thinks there is a little too much vinegar, but overall it gets raves when I serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I love beans, and I love sweet and sour, so I knew this recipe would be good. After I mixed all of the items, I put them in a casserole dish and baked them for a little more than an hour. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
Excellent!!! As a male my wife would prefer I not eat beans. "understandable" These tasted great and did not upset my tummy at all. She ask me to fix them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oneida, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Pan-Fried Butter Beans

See how to make a flavorful, super-easy side for roasted meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States