Sweet and Silky Strawberry Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Wonderful! I can't have strawberries, so I substituted other fruit. Also, I'm not very patient, so I cooled it off first in the fridge, then in the freezer (just until cool, not frozen) so I wouldn't have to wait 2 hours. It turned out great! I've been using All Recipes for years now, but this is the first recipe I felt strongly enough about to actually rate and review. This really does turn out just like store bought sorbet - which is getting harder to find in my area. Just what I was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was a great way to use up some almost too ripe strawberries. The sorbet was very silky and smooth for the first day and is fairly smooth even 3 days later. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was LOVELY. I doubled this recipe, used Splenda instead of sugar and I used a mixture of strawberries and blueberries. I don't have an ice cream maker so I froze it in a freezer container until solid, then scooped it back into my blender and re-blended it and then re-froze it. REALLY good, though I think the sweet could be cut back by at least a quarter next time. That's not a deal breaker, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
This is excellent sorbet! It does harden after a while in the freezer, but leaving it out for a few minutes restores its softness. I made mine with only 1/4 cup sugar as the strawberries were perfectly ripe and I don't like terribly sweet. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Delicious! I doubled the amount of strawberries and it turned out fantastic. It was so tasty, we kept sneaking bites while it was freezing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I served this to a dinner party, and was told by people that this was the best sorbet they had ever had! excellent, & easy to boot! note: I didnt use the food processor- I used frozen strawberrys, heated them up, added sugar, & used a pastry blender to mash them up before adding other stuff. awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraLF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was fabulous in taste and consistency. You must vary the amount of lemon juice to the sweetness of your berries or fruit. Less sweet berries will require less lemon juice, and I would only use 1.5 Tbsp max, but that is my preference. It does need some, no matter what. Also, you will find that substituting 2 Tbsp of the sugar with 2 Tbsp corn syrup will produce an even silkier texture. And dressing each serving with a small amount of chiffonaded fresh basil not only adds color, but a nice flavor complement as well. Thank you, Dana, for a terrific recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Fanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Such an easy recipe and so good. Good daiquiri base as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lanett, Alabama, USA
Living In: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this great sorbet in the summer, Its soft, silky, and sweet. But I did use powdered sugar, which made it taste less gridy. Then instead of cornstarch I used arrow-root starch, And just by using those two things its texture and flavor was ten times better! Thanks for the great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wallawallagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Great base recipie as is! I usually add some flavored vodka to prevent the sorbet to be frozen completely, helps when making it without an ice cream machine and flavors can be intermixed.. Watermelon Vodka (about 3 tbs) example. I used 1/2 fresh lemon and 3 tbsp orange juice in lieu of the cold water cornstarch mix.. Great flavor for a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treva Patow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States