Sweet and Silky Strawberry Sorbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is very good. We made it with white stevia powder instead of sugar. The Stevia in the Raw packet says that you can use it 1:1 with sugar but don't do it! I've been using stevia for 12 years, and so I used less than 1/2 cup, and it was still a little too sweet. Still, I would do this recipe again. Also, I used the recommendation someone else said and blended the frozen puree once. It turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Delicious! I doubled the amount of strawberries and it turned out fantastic. It was so tasty, we kept sneaking bites while it was freezing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelenMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This was fabulous in taste and consistency. You must vary the amount of lemon juice to the sweetness of your berries or fruit. Less sweet berries will require less lemon juice, and I would only use 1.5 Tbsp max, but that is my preference. It does need some, no matter what. Also, you will find that substituting 2 Tbsp of the sugar with 2 Tbsp corn syrup will produce an even silkier texture. And dressing each serving with a small amount of chiffonaded fresh basil not only adds color, but a nice flavor complement as well. Thank you, Dana, for a terrific recipe I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Fanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this great sorbet in the summer, Its soft, silky, and sweet. But I did use powdered sugar, which made it taste less gridy. Then instead of cornstarch I used arrow-root starch, And just by using those two things its texture and flavor was ten times better! Thanks for the great recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wallawallagirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I served this to a dinner party, and was told by people that this was the best sorbet they had ever had! excellent, & easy to boot! note: I didnt use the food processor- I used frozen strawberrys, heated them up, added sugar, & used a pastry blender to mash them up before adding other stuff. awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaraLF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Great base recipie as is! I usually add some flavored vodka to prevent the sorbet to be frozen completely, helps when making it without an ice cream machine and flavors can be intermixed.. Watermelon Vodka (about 3 tbs) example. I used 1/2 fresh lemon and 3 tbsp orange juice in lieu of the cold water cornstarch mix.. Great flavor for a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treva Patow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Delicious! My only adaptation is to cut the lemon juice in half. It turns out quite tangy with the 3 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cboz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This is a favorite in my house. The flavor depends on the quality of the strawberries. Fabulous berries make fabulous sorbet. The texture is silky and just plain wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
this turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmallen6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Love, Love, LOVE it! My son is allergic to dairy and so we make this as a special treat instead of ice cream, and everyone loves it. It freezes up light and fluffy in the ice cream freezer. I'm also looking forward to freezing the mixture into popsicles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George, Iowa, USA
Living In: Clear Lake, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

Turn fresh strawberries into an impressive and simple frozen dessert.

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States