Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I read other reviews for help and took some of their advice. There are too many steps and you can jump over them and still have a wonderfull receipe. Since I don't read directions well, I patted the pork down first with the dry ingredients and then added Dr. Pepper (I had no root beer). Covered in air tight bag for about 2-3 hours. I did not braize. I put the pork in a large slow cooker, added a little of the Dr. Pepper/dry rub mixture to it along with the added soda pop and whiskey etc,as the directions said. After cooking 6 + hrs, I shredded, add Sweet Baby Ray's and a little of the Pepper liquid. Let's just say I never got to taste it. I was gone before I got out to party to eat any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Living In: Edgerton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
We used a boneless shoulder roast and it turned out absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is absolutely the most delicious pulled pork I have ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathythecatlover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Tasted great! Just beware, this does take quite some time to prepare, I used the higher end when it came to marinating it.... would def make again, for a special occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morgan Garrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
My family absolutely LOVED this! My son keeps asking when I'm going to make it again. I skipped the marinating but stuck to the recipe as written otherwise. DELISH !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcatri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Awesome pulled pork, the best I've ever had!! The only thing I changed in the recipe is I didn't add any brown sugar to the liquid I put in the slow cooker, I found it made it too sweet the first time I made it. But I always use brown sugar BBQ sauce to toss the meat. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I did tweak the recipe a bit . . . but this pork was amazing. So good on potato rolls/buns. I made this for a family gathering and there were NO complaints! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I think the way the recipe is written is far more complicated than what it needs to be. Flavor wise, this is five stars all the way! Thanks for sharing!! Tweaks: I used Diet Dr. Pepper instead of root beer ('cuz that's what I had in the house). I didn't do all the marinading part nor the pre-browning part -- seemed too complicated, messy, and time consuming -- but just put everything together in the crock pot. I did fork and then rub the pork with the spice mix, but then put it directly into the pot. I didn't have any ginger, so I omitted that, but increased the dry mustard to 1 tsp, and used 1/2tsp garlic powder instead of 1/4tsp garlic salt. And I used 2oz whiskey because I was too lazy to try to eyeball half a shot in my 1 oz shot glass. :) I used Bull's Eye Hickory Smoke bbq sauce, and I think that hint of smoke really complimented the recipe well! My roommate loves his food spicy hot, so he added 1/2 tsp Frank's Red Hot to his sandwich after I plated it. He thought that made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Thank you for a fantastic pulled pork recipe!!! Whatta hit! My wife and kids loved this recipe! I didn't have whiskey, but i used jack daniels other than that, I followed your words to a T. I purposely left my kitchen windows open and my neighbor came over to ask what I was making. Truly Awesome! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigbaddad1178

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is the best slow cooker pork recipe I've ever prepared. The only things I changed is that I used diet root beer and I didn't brown the roast before putting it in the slow cooker. It made the house smell wonderful - we could barely wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
We made this recipe exactly as per the instructions, no changes required, it is fantastic as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States