Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Absolutely the best! I've become famous, in my neck of the woods, because of this pulled pork recipe. The rub, alone, is award-winning. I make my own hamburger buns to go with it and people line up for more. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Fabulous and I didn't even have time to marinate it over night! The Best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I made this 2x following recipe. I would not skip steps and really, it's not too labor intensive if you plan ahead. It's a tad too sweet for me, but my guests have loved it. 2nd time I made the day before through step 5. After shredding the meat and reserving the juice, I put it in the fridge. An hour before serving the next day, I put it in the slow cooker on low with reserved juice & bbq sauce. It was just as delish and a GREAT make ahead meal for company. Served with a buttermilk cornbread recipe from this site and homemade applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I read other reviews for help and took some of their advice. There are too many steps and you can jump over them and still have a wonderfull receipe. Since I don't read directions well, I patted the pork down first with the dry ingredients and then added Dr. Pepper (I had no root beer). Covered in air tight bag for about 2-3 hours. I did not braize. I put the pork in a large slow cooker, added a little of the Dr. Pepper/dry rub mixture to it along with the added soda pop and whiskey etc,as the directions said. After cooking 6 + hrs, I shredded, add Sweet Baby Ray's and a little of the Pepper liquid. Let's just say I never got to taste it. I was gone before I got out to party to eat any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA
Living In: Edgerton, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
We used a boneless shoulder roast and it turned out absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This is absolutely the most delicious pulled pork I have ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathythecatlover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Tasted great! Just beware, this does take quite some time to prepare, I used the higher end when it came to marinating it.... would def make again, for a special occassion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
My family absolutely LOVED this! My son keeps asking when I'm going to make it again. I skipped the marinating but stuck to the recipe as written otherwise. DELISH !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kcatri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Awesome pulled pork, the best I've ever had!! The only thing I changed in the recipe is I didn't add any brown sugar to the liquid I put in the slow cooker, I found it made it too sweet the first time I made it. But I always use brown sugar BBQ sauce to toss the meat. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I did tweak the recipe a bit . . . but this pork was amazing. So good on potato rolls/buns. I made this for a family gathering and there were NO complaints! The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I think the way the recipe is written is far more complicated than what it needs to be. Flavor wise, this is five stars all the way! Thanks for sharing!! Tweaks: I used Diet Dr. Pepper instead of root beer ('cuz that's what I had in the house). I didn't do all the marinading part nor the pre-browning part -- seemed too complicated, messy, and time consuming -- but just put everything together in the crock pot. I did fork and then rub the pork with the spice mix, but then put it directly into the pot. I didn't have any ginger, so I omitted that, but increased the dry mustard to 1 tsp, and used 1/2tsp garlic powder instead of 1/4tsp garlic salt. And I used 2oz whiskey because I was too lazy to try to eyeball half a shot in my 1 oz shot glass. :) I used Bull's Eye Hickory Smoke bbq sauce, and I think that hint of smoke really complimented the recipe well! My roommate loves his food spicy hot, so he added 1/2 tsp Frank's Red Hot to his sandwich after I plated it. He thought that made it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States