Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made this recipe with a 3.5 lb pork shoulder - and I didn't sear it before putting it in the crock pot. Since I knew that I would be at work all day, instead of cooking it on high for 6 hours, I cooked it on low for about 12. Once I got home from work I flipped it and let it cook for a little longer - I kept a cup of the marinade it slow cooked in and mixed it with the shredded pork then I put the crock pot in the refrigerator and the next day I warmed it up in the crock pot for a back yard pool party. It was a hit - some ate it with barbeque sauce, some didn't. Many people said that they were impressed with the flavor. All in all - if you are looking for something different to take to your next summer pot luck - this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I have made this 2 times now. My family loves it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
We really enjoyed this, esp my 4 yr old. My husband wished it had some spice toit, but he added hot sauce while eating. I was in a hurry so I didn't brown the outside and i used boneless picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
The pork was tender which is the most important thing for me. however, I didn't get a burst of flavor that I wanted. I'm picky with meat. I had it sitting in the spices too for a few days, and didn't get the wow. Still it was good and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This recipe is divine! I received a printed copy, without realizing it was on allrecipes. I just left the paper copy in the grocery store. Rather than trudge back to the store, I thought I would "google" the recipe and low and behold...I find the exact recipe on allrecipes.com (my favourite site for recipes). I hope someone at the store takes home the recipe and enjoys it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used this recipe and doubled what it all called for to make an 8.5 lb shoulder. It was done in about 8-9 hrs. absolutely EVERYONE loved it and said my pulled pork (the first time i've ever made pulled pork) was better than most resturaunts! woohoo!! I wasnt able to let the shoulder sit in the root beer overnight, but it did sit for a good hour, and then in the rub for another 2 hours before going into the crock pot. I used an aged rum instead of whiskey because thats all i had on hand. I'm not typically a fan of pulled pork, but if i make it from now on, i see me becoming an addict!! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made this for my party. Never made pulled pork before. I used a 10 lb pork shoulder. It was all the rave. It cooked in seven hours. Will make this again. A definite crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Fantastic. Marinated a 5lb. bone in-pork shoulder in A&W Root Beer for 10 hours, applied rub, wrapped in Saran wrap for 3 hours, seared to perfection and into the crockpot on low for 7 hours. Substitued apple cider vinegar for the whiskey (didn't have any). Piled on a steamed kaiser roll with coleslaw, and I spread microwaved Sweet Baby Rays Hickory bbq sauce on the both sides of the bun like you would other condiments for your favorite burger and it was superb. You can eat the pork like pot roast too which is why I didn't want to sauce it all up. The next day it was great used for pork tacos, with fresh cilantro and finely diced onion on a corn pan fried corn or flour tortilla. The kids prefer flour. Top with your favorite hot sauce and hang on as your taste buds take you for a ride. AWESOME PORK for three totally different dinners!! I might try a little liquid smoke next time as others mentioned just to see if it improves the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake George, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
AMAZING!! I cannot stress that enough. It is so good! I followed all the steps and stuck to the recipe except for I cut out the carbs. I used diet rootbeer and used splenda instead of sugar probably only 2T though. This is so good you don't even need the bbq sauce at the end! This is the only way I'll make pulled pork ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Everyone loved this. i used more black pepper than it called for and coke instead of root beer. It was really good. I didn't use the whiskey either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States