Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Turned out delicious!! We served it at a Christmas potluck dinner and it was a fav. At first looking at the recipe, it seemed overwhelming but it was actually quite easy to follow once started. We ended up doubling the recipe and used an 11.5 lb pork shoulder (its all the store carried) but it was perfect. For about 30 people, we maybe had 4 servings left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This turned out so delicious and tender, highly recommend! The only modification I made was a boneless pork shoulder trimmed and tied for even cooking. I cooked it for 6 hours, it was 4.3 lbs without the bone. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Amazing! That's all I can say! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
WOW !!! This was really good. I used Dr Pepper (cause that's what the neighbor had - we don't drink soda) didn't used whiskey (used small amount of apple juice in place) and didn't get the chance to let roast sit w/ the dry rub on it - a time issue. So good - for those of you that skip the searing part - don't, it carmelizes the brown sugar mixture and gives it such a great flavor, cant express enough I think it truly adds to the flavor in the meat. So yummy really doesn't need the bbq sauce (made some homemade too). Made some fried rice to accompany - excellent Sunday Football meal ! and the Patriots won - great food great win great Sunday !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Super yummy pulled pork!! Excellent flavor and real tender. I did not sear the meat and I only had regular Coke on hand instead of root beer. I also did not let the meat rest after I applied the rub-another unnecessary step. I purposely did not sear the meat because it is completely unnecessary and an extra step that will give no extra value to the final product. The reason you do not need to sear the meat is that is is being slow cooked in a slow cooker, this cooking method is a moist method. Searing meats are beneficial to dry cooking such as roasting. Had this recipe called for a dry roast I would have seared. There is plenty of liquid that the pork cooks in, and searing it would just be a temporary roadblock for the liquid to penetrate the pork and keep it moist. So searing AND cooking in a slow cooker with liquid is very counter productive. I also cooked mine on low for 6 hours, then high for 3. I think with some tweaking of the directions this recipe would be OUTSTANDING! Ill definitely make again and again, but will not follow the 2 steps mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I tries this recipe for the first time back in early 2012. I have made it probably 7 or 8 times since then and it always turns out amazing! I always follow the directions exactly and I swear its the best pulled pork EVER! There's been 2 times that I didn't have whiskey in the house so I didn't use it those times, but it tasted the same without it. Thanks for the recipe that I will foreer keep in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
This was absolutely, hands down, amazing. It IS a lot of work, don't be surprised, but it was worth it. I followed each step exactly, with only two minor deviations. I prepared the shoulder the night before, by following steps 1,2,3,and half of 5. I put the shoulder in the crockpot in the fridge overnight, and mixed the liquid and poured over in the morning when I turned the crockpot on, and I set it to low, since I knew I would be out of the house for 12 hours. I made the mistake of discarding the fat/skin layer, I should have shreded it with the meat. That's the only thing I can think of that would have made this dish better! Not to sweet, which is what I was afraid of, and not vinegary, like most bbq recipes. I used Kraft Honey Hickory smoked BBQ sauce, and it was fantastic. The other half added more to his sandwiches, but I enjoyed it as is. It's a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was best pulled pork recipe I've ever tried. Marinated in rootbeer 24 hrs, then allowed rub to remain for 12 hrs. Prepped over several days but worth the effort! Made this for friends in Colorado during vacation and they loved it too! Will keep recipe and share many times! I added some Bourbon BBQ sauce when making up sandwiches. Excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mohrsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I followed this exactly up to the part for the sauce going into the crockpot. Boyfriend had drank the rest of the root beer! Diet dr pepper was the closest alternative available, and everything went smoothly from there. The meat was so incredibly tender and flavorful without being really saucy. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
everyone loved it! only thing i did different was not marinating overnite, I started it too late. GOOD STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States