Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. I'm not sure I will make this again. It was a LOT of work and I'm not sure it was worth the effort. The taste was ok but I think it could have been better. I used Sweet Baby Rays as the BBQ sauce. In the end the taste was just bland. I ended up adding a little misquite flavoring, worchestershire and red hot just to try to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is a very delicious version of pulled pork . As always, I like to over do things, so I went double on everything but the rootbeer and whiskey and it was so good I wanted to jump up and slap somebody!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsJames

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
ONE OF THE BEST PULLED PORK RECIPES I HAVE EVER HAD! didn't use the whiskey and it tasted great....i am from GA and have had MANY bbq pork dinners....NONE as good as this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Excellent, I changed the recipe just a bit. I didn't have ground ginger or any whiskey. Instead I added Yukon Jack, it is a Candian Whiskey 1000 Proof. Very nice taste after all. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mario Staiano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was excellent, ingredient-wise, but written with far more steps than necessary. I skipped the marinating and browning steps entirely with excellent results, and just added the spices and seasonings to the liquid in which the pork was slow-cooked. I may reduce the amount of cinnamon next time I make it, though. My husband couldn't stop raving about this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hooker, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Scott City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was awesome! I had a 8lb. pork roast so I doubled the recipe. I used a spicy brown sugar BBQ sauce and it tasted superb. I made a ton to ensure that we would have plenty of leftovers. Which was not the case...we couldn't stop eating it! My husband called his mom and grandmother and bragged about it endlessly...needless to say by the time the pack off wild Bulls (our surname) was done all the meat was gone! It would have been real good with a little something to make it hotter...i'm a sucker for sweet heat! Thanks for posting this recipe! Readers, don't let the rootbeer and whiskey scare you off. It's the BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was AMAZINGLY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin KC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Used speiced rum instead of whiskey, and pumpkin pie beer instead of rootbeer- good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I got rave reviews from the 1st group and the left-over group. I forgot to marinate it overnight and it still was great. Everyone wanted the recipe and couldn't believe there was root beer in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Absolutely DELICIOUS pulled pork. I have made it several times and each time receive numerous requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States