Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I used this recipe and doubled what it all called for to make an 8.5 lb shoulder. It was done in about 8-9 hrs. absolutely EVERYONE loved it and said my pulled pork (the first time i've ever made pulled pork) was better than most resturaunts! woohoo!! I wasnt able to let the shoulder sit in the root beer overnight, but it did sit for a good hour, and then in the rub for another 2 hours before going into the crock pot. I used an aged rum instead of whiskey because thats all i had on hand. I'm not typically a fan of pulled pork, but if i make it from now on, i see me becoming an addict!! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I made this for my party. Never made pulled pork before. I used a 10 lb pork shoulder. It was all the rave. It cooked in seven hours. Will make this again. A definite crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Fantastic. Marinated a 5lb. bone in-pork shoulder in A&W Root Beer for 10 hours, applied rub, wrapped in Saran wrap for 3 hours, seared to perfection and into the crockpot on low for 7 hours. Substitued apple cider vinegar for the whiskey (didn't have any). Piled on a steamed kaiser roll with coleslaw, and I spread microwaved Sweet Baby Rays Hickory bbq sauce on the both sides of the bun like you would other condiments for your favorite burger and it was superb. You can eat the pork like pot roast too which is why I didn't want to sauce it all up. The next day it was great used for pork tacos, with fresh cilantro and finely diced onion on a corn pan fried corn or flour tortilla. The kids prefer flour. Top with your favorite hot sauce and hang on as your taste buds take you for a ride. AWESOME PORK for three totally different dinners!! I might try a little liquid smoke next time as others mentioned just to see if it improves the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lake George, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
AMAZING!! I cannot stress that enough. It is so good! I followed all the steps and stuck to the recipe except for I cut out the carbs. I used diet rootbeer and used splenda instead of sugar probably only 2T though. This is so good you don't even need the bbq sauce at the end! This is the only way I'll make pulled pork ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Everyone loved this. i used more black pepper than it called for and coke instead of root beer. It was really good. I didn't use the whiskey either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was absolutely delicious! Not too hard to do, just had to plan ahead. This is a company worthy dish. I can't eat tomato products so put the BBQ sauce on the table to be added later. On the recommendation of a friend who tried this first, a little mango jelly added to the sandwich is a great alternative to BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I usually don't take the time to write reviews but I wanted to do so for this recipe. Ok I thought the rootbeer was a little weird but have to say that this is a fantastic recipe. I am a vegan but the only one in my household so have never tasted this but the aroma is outstanding and those I make it for have all given a thumbs up. I haven't changed a thing. I do compliment it with a Jim Beam barbeque sauce I make myself. It's Super Bowl Sunday and I am off to put the pork into the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Very good recipe! I marinaded the pork overnight, rubbed the spices on the meat in the morning and then added all ingredients in the slow cooker. I cooked the meat on low for 7 hours and it fell off the bone! I also added a touch of liquid smoke to the ingredients! It gives it more of a smoky flavor. I added sweet mild pepper rings to my sandwich bun and stacked the pork on top This recipe would be good with beef if you followed all directions but layered the slow cooker with sweet onions first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very excellent! I replaced the whiskey with 1 tsp liquid smoke. The balsamic vinegar is worth it (I've also made this with cider vinegar -- good, but best with balsamic). The pre-slow cooker browning of the meat makes a difference, so don't skip that step! I served this with Grandma's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site, and my guys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
We didn't care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States