Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I have done this twice and my kids think it is like candy. My oldest has stated, he could eat this every day! I double this recipe because it is so popular and I just add two 4 lb. shoulders. Do yourself a favor and do not short cut the ingredients. Even if you are concerned about the whiskey or root beer, it adds greatly to the flavor. I will probably make this another half dozen times this year due to demand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I stayed pretty much to the recipe. Added more Barbecue sauce than it called for (Bottle and a half of Sweet Baby Ray's Honey Barbecue Sauce). Probably one of the better pulled porks I've had. Thinking this could be adapted to chicken, also. Oh, and I used pork butt rather than the shoulder, so there were no bones to remove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Very very very very very very very very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Excellent and in my case, easy. I didn't have time to marinate and didn't see the point of browning. I was really short on time and I liked the sound of this recipe, so I took the liberty to improvise. I don't keep many dried herbs and spices on hand because I prefer fresh, so I had to make a dry rub out of what I had. Viola, Red Robin season salt had most of the ingredients that were in the rub and I wasn't looking for the the cinnamon flavor. I used Virgil's root beer and Crown Royal, in the liquid. I had some killer BBQ sauce my brother had given us from the south, I only used about a half cup, which was plenty. (2 1/2 lb roast). We ate it for two days, and it was just as good the first day. My husband, who is a pulled pork snob, loved this recipe. Wasn't too thrilled I used his Crown Royal, until he tasted it. Making it again for Mother's Day, not sure if I will marinate or not, it was so good without the extra steps. Each to his own, and I hope I didn't insult anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
love it, I've made it a couple of times now, for family and friends to rave reviews, and an empty pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I was not fond of this recipe. I did not like the root beer flavor. It gave the dish an off flavor. Also, Overall this is a lot of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Well, I haven't actually cooked it yet, but I just wanted to say the spice rub is glorious! I actually put the spice rub recipe in my 'special' cookbook that I reserve for my children when they grow up. All my favorite recipes go into it, and that says something because I'm a serious foodie! Will post my opinion of the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I followed this to the letter, and it was the best pulled pork I have ever had!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This recipe was awesome. I followed it exactly. I used a sweet and spicy barbecue sauce, to finish it, but it was delicious without it. Next time, I might take some out to use with the sauce it makes, just put the sauce in the fridge, and when it's cold, scoop out the fat accumulated on top. That way, I can have barbecued pulled pork and also, make something entirely different with the original sauce and plain pulled pork. Great spice rub! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is the BEST pulled pork I've ever had or made! I made it according to the recipe and DE-LISH and not to saucey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States