Sweet and Savory Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I did like the root beer in this recipe quite a bit. I felt like there was a lot of work for the amount of hate for this recipe and you still had to add your own barbecue sauce. I think I would take things like the root beer and add it she was different recipes to create more of a bold taste. However I do plan to make enchiladas with this as I think it would go really well with the extra spaces I put in for that meal. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yorkielover

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I made this recipe yesterday and it was superb. Skipped the dry mustard since i did not have any. Super easy to pull the pork and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ray O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
As anyone who's been cooking for more than their college/ first boyfriend years, I would agree that the recipe additions are excessive and that you can make do with any 3-4 picked out of the mix. Any seasonings you like most will work just fine, whatever you pick! E.g., I hate vinegar and never put it into any of my 1hr/overnight marinades, and the meat still turns out amazing; you just need some sour (or oily/creamy) ingredient there. As for browning the meat, you can do it for the crust, but no one would notice it you don't. The flavor and look would be more enjoyable I believe, but this argument is like comparing Brad Pitt to Ryan Reynolds. Both perfect. Just a bit different :))) I loooooove pulled pork so hope this recipe will work for you w/o busting anyone's insides :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kayte Pendley Crosby
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Made this today with an 8 lb Boston butt, minus the whiskey and root beer (only because I didn't have on hand) and we used a tiny bit of our fav BBQ sauce (jack Daniels) and it was delish! My family is not into BBQ but I wanted to try something other than carnitas with an extra Boston butt I got on sale. This was great, and my 10 year old picky eater even had seconds! Next time I'll def do the root beer and whiskey for even more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I made this today for dinner. I used much more pork than what the recipe called for and it turned out very very good. The best pork barbeque I have tasted. Root beer and whiskey made it a hit. I will definitely save this recipe. Flavor was out of this world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Absolutely wonderful recipe! Don't skip steps. They're there for a reason. I made it exactly as written and we were rewarded with a great meal when we got home. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this yesterday. I used a 4.5 pound pork shoulder (bone in) and was disappointed by the amount of meat (or lack thereof). Browning the meat beforehand will activate the flavors in the rub so would recommend not skipping that step but some work if looking for a typical easy crock pot recipe. I cooked with the fat on an is pretty gross when removing after cooking in crock pot. Are you supposed to remove beforehand?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Hi! I just put it in my slow cooker and can't wait to try it later. I had no whiskey and didn't marinate it because I'm making it for tonight. I had all the other ingredients and my son was willing to donate a root beer. Will keep you posted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I made this and it was a lot of work with the same taste as the simple version I made. Crockpot with the meat and add about half a bottle of root beer. by kids love it this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Marie Morales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Delicious! Quite sweet though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beer Pulled Pork

Check out this simple, yet tasty slow cooker pork.

Slow Cooker Texas Pulled Pork

See how to make tender pulled pork with flavor as big as Texas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States