Sweet and Sassy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was delicious! A surprising variety of flavors. I didn't have any chipotle chili seasoning, so I used regular chili seasoning and it was still delicious. I found also that if you eat it while it's very hot, the temperature overshadows the flavors. Let it sit for about 2-3 minutes so it can cool a tad and the flavors have a chance to present themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I loved this but instead of chipotle chili (I had no idea where to find that), I used a little chili poweder and some cumin and also added a little cinnamon. I also used half the onion. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delicious. This dish was sweet and savory at the same time. I added vegan sausage and eggs to it and made it a complete breakfast. My hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
add curry and cumin and bacon, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkowal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Awesome made it exactly how the recipe says and turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were fantastic! I had three medium sized sweet potatoes that I scrubbed and shredded. I didn't have chipotle powder so I substituted ground cayenne pepper; I also didn't have garlic powder, so I put 1/6 tsp garlic salt. I was very afraid that these weren't going to be appetizing, I don't care much for sweet potatoes and had some after the holiday to get rid of. I was pleasantly surprised by the way these hash browns tasted. Sweet when you first put them in your mouth and then with a spicy kick! Will make them again if I come across sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreanugget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Oh yeah! These are wow. Loved the sweet & hot together. I used 1/4 of a big Vidalia onion ("one onion" is really a LOT in that case), and kept the chile powder @ 1/8t (a pinch), instead of 1/4t, since I was cooking for the kids. Mmmmmmmm. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was really good, I used it in a vegetable frittata recipe on this site. Instead of chipotle powder, I used a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce that I chopped up. I used olive oil instead of butter, and I turned the heat down on my stove to avoid the burning that other reviewers complained about. It didn't get as crispy as regular hash browns, but it tasted really good, so whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I forgot the brown sugar and they were still sweet enough. Tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Not good. The husband ate it, but the kids and I tossed it. Now the house smells like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States