Sweet and Sassy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was really good, I used it in a vegetable frittata recipe on this site. Instead of chipotle powder, I used a chipotle pepper in adobo sauce that I chopped up. I used olive oil instead of butter, and I turned the heat down on my stove to avoid the burning that other reviewers complained about. It didn't get as crispy as regular hash browns, but it tasted really good, so whatever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I loved this but instead of chipotle chili (I had no idea where to find that), I used a little chili poweder and some cumin and also added a little cinnamon. I also used half the onion. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Even though I reduced the heat to medium when leaving it to sit, it began to burn after a minute. I can't imagine what would be left after 5 minutes on medium high heat. Also way too much sugar!!! I think this could have potential to be good, but as is - !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
AMAZINGLY delicious!!! I loved everything about this recipe! Followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Excellent served with a dollop of sour cream and garnish of fresh cilantro!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This was pretty good. I used two sweet potatos and a half of an onion (only because that was what I had in the house). I chopped the potatos instead of shredding them, and while it took a bit longer to cook, they still had a great flavor. Thanks for sharing - I love to use sweet potatos over white any time I can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I followed the recipe as directed, however I did reduce the onion from 1 whole to 3/4 (of an onion). A typical 'hash brown' crust did develop, but other than that, I did not enjoy the combination of the seasonings, nor the overpowering flavor of onion. I am, almost always, a huge fan of onions in anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was delicious! A surprising variety of flavors. I didn't have any chipotle chili seasoning, so I used regular chili seasoning and it was still delicious. I found also that if you eat it while it's very hot, the temperature overshadows the flavors. Let it sit for about 2-3 minutes so it can cool a tad and the flavors have a chance to present themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
These were great! I love sweet potato, and the chipotle and sweetness worked together wonderfully. Mine didn't necessarily get crispy before they started to burn, but the overall flavor of these was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States