Sweet and Sassy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was really so-so for me. The kids wouldn't touch it. I added two loose tablespoons of brown sugar, and I wish I hadn't added it at all. It was way too sweet. I added salt to try and redeem it - I love salty/sweet - it helped, but I still didn't care a ton for it. Halfway through I realized I'd seasoned with paprika instead of chili powder, so I added the chili powder and it still didn't do it for me. Sorry, I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
These were great! My only problem was that they wouldn't hold together well at all. They didn't hold together like a hashbrown would, but the flavor was great. Add a bit more chili powder if you like it spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was really excellent. Just what I was looking for to use up some sweet potatoes. I really dislike candied sweet potatoes and everyone seems to love over sweetening them. I did not add the brown sugar and these turned out so well!! Lots of variations possible too! Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indy_J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I have a recipe of my own that is similar to this, but I use cinnamon, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. I wanted to add spice like you did here, but I just had some cumin. Still, thanks for the tip of adding the spicy stuff to the sweet. I cut down the amount of brown sugar a little bit, and again used cumin instead of chile powder, but these had an awesome flavor. I still think I'll go back to using cinnamon instead of brown sugar cause the sweet potato is sweet enough on it's own, but other than that I'll be following this recipe from now on. I've never had much success in getting my hash browns to crisp up, and the first time around this was no exception. But I had some leftovers and put them in a tupperware in the fridge for a few days, and reheated them over the skillet, and they got really nice and crisp. I'm not sure what did it, as I've stored shredded sweet potato in the fridge overnight before and didn't get such good results. I'll have to figure that one out on my own I suppose. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were fantastic! I had three medium sized sweet potatoes that I scrubbed and shredded. I didn't have chipotle powder so I substituted ground cayenne pepper; I also didn't have garlic powder, so I put 1/6 tsp garlic salt. I was very afraid that these weren't going to be appetizing, I don't care much for sweet potatoes and had some after the holiday to get rid of. I was pleasantly surprised by the way these hash browns tasted. Sweet when you first put them in your mouth and then with a spicy kick! Will make them again if I come across sweet potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreanugget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
add curry and cumin and bacon, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkowal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Not good. The husband ate it, but the kids and I tossed it. Now the house smells like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Awesome made it exactly how the recipe says and turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Delicious. This dish was sweet and savory at the same time. I added vegan sausage and eggs to it and made it a complete breakfast. My hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I had to use more butter and cook longer but well worth the wait. if anyone in your house doesnt like sweet potatoes try this and I bet they start eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Saylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States