Sweet and Salty Toll House® Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I loved the dough before baking. It kind of lost something after baking though and I really didn't notice the chips in it anymore. However, taking these to work to share, EVERYONE who had one came to me to tell me how much they liked them. They disappeared very fast! Instead of semi-sweet chips, I went with 1 cup dark chips and 1 cup white chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Hubby just loved these. He was very surprised that they were not salty. He said that they were really yummy. One more cookie to add to my Christmas tray. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Only one comment, I was surprised that the chips-peanuts-pretzel combination didn't add more flavor to the cookies. These definitely are tasty, but the chocolate chip flavor totally dominates...not that that is a bad thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
DELICIOUS! I used mini chips and did not use the optional peanuts. Great balance of salty and sweet and wonderful texture! I will def be making these again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by tcsangel
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I wasn't sure I would like these cookies, but they are good!! I made them today and gave them to all the neighbors and they loved them too! So, they sound odd, but try them, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Just remade these with a minor tweak. Last year I thought kettle chips would make these better and they do! I used kettle potato chips with sea salt. I also used sea salt in the recipe and that helped with the sweet and salty contrast. I also do not recommend making these with margarine. I had some on hand and decided to use it instead of butter and my cookies spread a lot. Like in my original review I chilled the dough and made other high altitude baking adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies are great! I'd anticipated a bit more "salt" to them w/the chips, pretzels, and salted peanuts I used, but they were still great. I did bake at 300, as is my personal cookie baking preference thanks for Felix K! This is a nice change of pace from the usual chocolate chip cookie. (Disclaimer: I made these as part of an Allrecipes All Star assignment sponsored by Nestle, but rest assured I am the boss of me and my opinions are mine and mine alone...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I thought I'd try this unique twist on choc chip cookies, especially for those who need a little variety from all pure sweet sweets out there during the holidays. Tip: Easier to scoop if you refrig the dough 30 min. Use a mix of white choc and regular choc chips. YUM! Complements the salty flavor beautifully. Even people who don't have a sweet tooth will enjoy them (like my husband who raved about them). I can't wait to serve them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I loved these! I used a combination of semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips. These are delightful! Thanks Nestle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was a bit disappointed with these. I agree with other reviewers, perhaps just too much going on in these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States